< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ireland vs South Africa, 1st T20I: South Africa beat Ireland by 21 runs

A couple of blistering knocks from Lorcan Tucker and George Dockrell couldn't prevent South Africa winning the 1st T20I by 21 runs, at the County Ground Ground Bristol, today.

Match Summary

Ireland vs South Africa, 1st T20I, South Africa v Ireland in England

Ireland 190/9 (20 ov)

South Africa 211/5 (19.6 ov)

Result - South Africa won by 21 runs


Match Report

Reeza Hendricks hit his fourth successive Twenty20 fifty as South Africa posted a commanding total of 211-5 in their series opener against Ireland in Bristol on Wednesday.

Hendricks, who hit three half-centuries in the Proteas' recent 2-1 series win over England, top-scored with 74 and shared a third-wicket partnership of 112 with Aiden Markram (56).

Opening batsman Hendricks's latest fifty came off 32 balls, including seven fours and a six, while Markram got to the landmark in 25 balls including six boundaries.

The pair fell to consecutive deliveries, with leg-spinner Gareth Delany, having Markram caught at deep square leg before Hendricks holed out to point.

But Tristan Stubbs -- 24 off 11 balls -- and Dwaine Pretorius -- 21 off seven -- ensured the runs kept coming at the end.

South Africa suffered a setback before the match started, with captain David Miller ruled out by a back spasm. Keshav Maharaj took over the captaincy, with Miller's fellow batsman Heinrich Klaasen taking his place in the XI.

Proteas fast bowler Kagiso Rabada had already been sidelined from both matches in this series with an ankle injury.

 Cricket Ireland

A blistering 38-ball 78 from Lorcan Tucker wasnt enough for Ireland as South Africa secured a 21-run win in the first T20I.

Set a steep target of 212, Tucker and George Dockrell (43 off 28) kept Ireland in the hunt until wickets tumbled at the end of the chase.

South Africa won the toss and chose to bat first, putting on 23 in the first three overs before Quinton de Kock departed for 7 from the first ball of the fourth; attempting a quick single, the left-hander was caught short after Harry Tector was quick to move at mid-off and hit the stumps at the non-striker’s end.

Rassie van der Dussen departed for 10 a couple of overs later, his attempted flick resulting in a catch at third man off the bowling of Andrew McBrine.

From there came the biggest partnership of the innings, with Reeza Hendricks and Aiden Markram putting on 112 for the third wicket. Hendricks dominated the early stages of his stand, continuing his excellent recent form to reach his fourth consecutive T20I half-century off just 32 deliveries.

While Markram was patient to begin with – he hit 11 off his first 13 deliveries – the boundaries soon began to flow. His half-century was reached off just 25 deliveries, with the right-hander taking 20 runs off four consecutive Josh Little deliveries at one stage.

Hendricks and Markram’s partnership finally came to a close in the 16th over when the former chipped Gareth Delany to deep midwicket. Hendricks fell from the very next delivery, finding Paul Stirling at point to depart for 74.

South Africa bounced back quickly from those two blows, with Tristan Stubbs (24 off 11) and Dwaine Pretorius (21* off 7) lifting the Proteas to 211.

In response, Wayne Parnell was responsible for the dismissals of Ireland’s two openers, Stirling (18) and Andrew Balbirnie (14). 

It took Tucker to truly ignite the innings as he raced to 24 off just eight balls, effectively using his feet to come down the pitch and aerially attack Parnell down the ground.

Tector, Delany and Curtis Campher all departed cheaply but Tucker kept on motoring, and he found the perfect partner in Dockrell to resuscitate the Ireland innings. Together the pair put on fifty in just 25 balls, and when Tucker smashed six and then four off Shamsi in the 17th over, Ireland were well and truly in the game.

But Tucker then failed to properly connect with his shot against the wrist-spinner, gifting a simple catch to de Kock behind the stumps, and Dockrell perished not long after off Pretorius.

From there South Africa took full control, with Mark Adair and McBrine departing before victory was finally secured.

Match Stats

South Africa: Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Quinton de Kock - 3.1 ov), 2-45 (Rassie van der Dussen - 5.4 ov), 3-157 (Aiden Markram - 15.4 ov), 4-157 (Reeza Hendricks - 15.5 ov), 5-184 (Tristan Stubbs - 18.2 ov)

Ireland: Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Andy Balbirnie - 2.4 ov), 2-43 (Paul Stirling - 4.3 ov), 3-72 (Harry Tector - 7.1 ov), 4-83 (Gareth Delany - 8.5 ov), 5-84 (Curtis Campher - 9.2 ov), 6-170 (Lorcan Tucker - 16.6 ov), 7-170 (George Dockrell - 17.1 ov), 8-175 (Mark Adair - 18.2 ov), 9-183 (Andy McBrine - 18.6 ov)

Playing XIs

Ireland; Paul Stirling, Andy Balbirnie (C), Lorcan Tucker (WK), Harry Tector, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Curtis Campher, Mark Adair, Barry McCarthy, Andy McBrine, Joshua Little

South Africa,  Quinton de Kock (WK), Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, Tristan Stubbs, Dwaine Pretorius, Wayne Parnell, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi, Keshav Maharaj (C)

Match Details
Toss: South Africa won the toss & elected to bat
Venue: County Ground, Bristol, Bristol
Start time: 18:30 hrs 
Match officials:  Martin Saggers(England) Roly Black(Ireland) Paul Reynolds(Ireland TV) Steve Davis (Australia)  (Match-referee) Phil Whitticase (England)

©Cricket World 2022