< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ireland vs South Africa 2nd ODI Preview: South Africa seek Super League points against motivated hosts

Ireland vs South Africa
Ireland vs South Africa
©Cricket Ireland

South Africa no longer have an opportunity to take away a perfect 30 from the series after the first match was washed out.

Live Scores and Stats - Ireland vs South Africa 2nd ODI

Porterfield fit, what about Campher?

It was a pity that the series opener between Ireland and South Africa was rained off after it was poised brilliantly. Both teams would have been disappointed to take away just five points from the match.

It came as a relief for Ireland that William Porterfield recovered enough from his finger injury which he sustained during training to open alongside Paul Stirling.

It was a surprise that Curtis Campher was not part of the Ireland playing XI. Perhaps, he is yet to completely recover after his ankle surgery.

Quinton de Kock and Nortje to rest

South African captain Temba Bavuma also made a couple of surprising moves at the toss. Quinton de Kock, after scoring runs for fun in the five-match T20I series against West Indies was rested. Janneman Malan was picked to open the batting alongside Aiden Markram, but the opportunity never arrived.

Anrich Nortje, who suffered a terrible blow on his knee in his follow through in the West Indies, is still not completely free from injury and was not part of the playing XI in the first ODI.

Andile Phehlukwayo, who has enjoyed a lot of success over the last few ODIs, was back in the side. South Africa preferred spin bowling all-rounder George Linde in the West Indies but with the conditions in his favour, Phehlukwayo made his way back.

Left arm spinners Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi were both part of the South African XI, with Lungi Ngidi and Kagiso Rabada leading the pace bowling attack. With Quinton de Kock reste, Kyle Verreynne took the gloves behind the wickets.

Quinton de Kock and Nortje are likely to rest for this game as well.

Stirling and Porterfield see off new ball

Rabada and Ngidi bowled well in the powerplay ater South Africa put Ireland into bat first after winning the toss. Despite a lot of plays and misses, Ireland were successful in not losing any wicket in the first 10 overs.

Paul Stirling faced 40 deliveries but could only score 13 and was dismissed in the 13th over, caught by David Miller as he miscued a pull shot.

William Porterfield and Andrew Balbirnie then added 87 runs for the 2nd wicket. After the rain break, Ireland began to accelerate and scored their last 50 runs from just 32 deliveries.

With Ireland at 195 for 4 and Mark Adair walloping a couple over the ropes, Ireland were just beginning to cut loose when rain interrupted again and the match could never restart.

SA miss out on full points

South Africa's captain Temba Bavuma who was looking to make the most of the series, would be disappointed to miss out on 5 potential points.

"It gives us a good opportunity to get our ducks in a row. If it means that we have to play games under pressure or with a lot of consequence then so be it. It's not a bad thing to have to go through that type of process. It will go a long way in strengthening our mental resolve. We'll know, going to the World Cup, that we've had to overcome a lot of tough moments," Bavuma said before the series.

Kagiso Rabada was the best bowler on show for South Africa and picked up 2 wickets from 8.2 overs while conceding 43 runs. Lungi Ngidi, Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi all maintained an economy rate of less than 5 RPO.

Both teams are not expected to make any changes to the playing XI for the 2nd ODI. If rain stays away, and the weather forecast promises that, we might have a good game on our hands.

Here's a look at the probable playing XIs:

- William Porterfield, Paul Stirling, Andrew Balbirnie (c), Harry Tector, George Dockrell, Lorcan Tucker (wk), Simi Singh, Andy McBrine, Craig Young, Joshua Little, Mark Adair

South Africa - Aiden Markram, Janneman Malan, Temba Bavuma (c), Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (wk), David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi

© Cricket World 2021