< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ireland Women qualify for T20 World Cup

Ireland team celebrating
Ireland team celebrating
©Abu Dhabi Cricket & Sports Hub

Ireland Women’s cricket team survived a nail-biting semi-final to beat Zimbabwe by four runs, and ensure qualification to the 2023 ICC T20 World Cup in South Africa.

Match Summary

Zimbabwe Women 133/6 (20 ov)

Ireland Women 137/6 (20 ov)

Ireland Women won by 4 runs.


Top Tournament Stats 

Top Batter (Runs Scored)

Top Bowler (Wickets taken)

Most Sixes

Points Table

In a true all-round team performance, Ireland’s top six batters registered double-figures, while the bowlers remained composed under mounting pressure - with stand-out bowlers Jane Maguire and Arlene Kelly taking four crucial wickets between them - as Ed Joyce’s team held on to claim one of the two T20 World Cup spots on offer.

Having been sent in the bat, Ireland started off with positive intent - Gaby Lewis slapping the second ball of the day to the deep square leg boundary. Along with her opening partner Amy Hunter, the pair punished any short deliveries as they looked to take the early initiative. However, Lewis (11) fell in the fourth over after she top-edged one to backward point, with Ireland 25-1.

Orla Prendergast entered the fray and looked in fine touch once again - striking two fours and a six from her first nine balls, as Ireland moved on to 44-1 after the powerplay

Following a 31-run stand, Hunter (19) advanced down Audrey Mazvishaya but was stumped in 9th over. Prendergast tried to take advantage of a second life after being dropped earlier in her innings and powered her way to 28 before holing out at cover off the bowling of Kelis Ndlovu.

At 68-3, Ireland’s innings was in the balance, but several dropped catches saw Ireland ride their luck. A quickfire 30-run partnership between Laura Delany (22) and Eimear Richardson (14), followed by a 27-run partnership between Delany and Rebecca Stokell (26* off 12 balls) saw Ireland regain control.   

Stokell’s late cameo saw her smash 20 runs off the 18th over, as 37 runs flowed from the final three overs – Ireland finished on 137-6 from their 20 overs.

Jane Maguire claimed two early wickets in the Zimbabwean run-chase – Ndlovu (8) and Chipo Tiripano (4) – but began to recover with Sharne Mayers and Mary-Anne Musonda posting a 50-run partnership. That partnership was broken by Kelly in the 13th over when she clipped the off stump of Mayers (39), and Zimbabwe were 71-3.

Zimbabwe upped the scoring rate in the latter overs – needing a feasible 39 from 30 balls, Cara Murray struck, removing Musonda (31) with a flighted delivery that spun away from the right-hander leaving her stranded, and Mary Waldron duly completed the stumping.

Delany took the ball for the final over with 15 runs required by the batting side, but despite finding a boundary with the second ball, Ireland held on for the win.

Ireland will progress to the Qualifier Final on Sunday against the winner between Bangladesh and Thailand but have already secured qualification to next year’s T20 World Cup through today’s victory.    

Match Stats

Ireland Women Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Gaby Lewis - 3.4 ov), 2-56 (Amy Hunter - 8.5 ov), 3-66 (Orla Prendergast - 11.4 ov), 4-96 (Eimear Richardson - 15.6 ov), 5-123 (Laura Delany - 18.4 ov), 6-127 (Shauna Kavanagh - 18.6 ov)

Zimbabwe Women: Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Kellies Ndlovu - 4.2 ov), 2-20 (Chipo Mugeri - 4.5 ov), 3-70 (Sharne Mayers - 12.2 ov), 4-99 (Mary-Anne Musonda - 15.1 ov), 5-105 (Modester Mupachikwa - 16.2 ov), 6-108 (Pellagia Mujaji - 17.3 ov)

Playing XI

Zimbabwe Women: Modester Mupachikwa, Pellagia Mujaji, Sharne Mayers, Chipo Mugeri, Mary-Anne Musonda, Kellies Ndlovu, Josephine Nkomo, Nomvelo Sibanda, Precious Marange, Audrey Mazvishaya, Loreen Tshuma

Ireland Women: Mary Waldron (WK), Amy Hunter, Gaby Lewis, Rebecca Stokell, Shauna Kavanagh, Laura Delany, Eimear Richardson, Orla Prendergast, Arlene Kelly, Cara Murray, Jane Maguire

Match Details:

Date: 09-23 11:00:00

Venue: Tolerance Oval, Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi

Toss: Zimbabwe Women won the toss & elected to field

Officials: Umpires: Sharfuddoula (Bangladesh), Vrinda Rathi (India)

Match Referee: Shandre Fritz (South Africa)

© Cricket World