< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Ireland Women’s cricket team complete warm-up for World T20 with convincing win

Ireland Women have completed their warm-up matches for the ICC Women's World T20 with a convincing victory over Sri Lanka Women.

After winning the toss, Captain Laura Delany chose to bowl first. Sri Lanka started well, making their way to 40-1 from 7 overs.

However, a wicket by Isobel Joyce with the first ball of the eighth over sparked a collapse, as the Irish bowlers ran through their opposition claiming nine wickets for just 45 runs over the next 11.1 overs.

Celeste Raack, the Australian-born legspinner playing on her second match for Ireland, claimed two wickets, while Lara Maritz - the Toyota Super 3's Player of the Year - came on late and claimed 3-1 from her eight balls.

With just 86 runs the target, Ireland lost opener Cecelia Joyce early, but Clare Shillington and Gaby Lewis steadied the innings with a 43-run stand from just under six overs.

Shillington, the Player of the Tournament at the World T20 Qualifier tournament in July, batted assertively hitting seven boundaries in an innings of 50*. Her partnership of 41* with Delany (15*) saw the Girls in Green home, chasing the target in just 13.2 overs.

  • Full scorecard available here.

Aaron Hamilton’s side returns to Guyana tomorrow to prepare for the first Group Stage match against Australia on Sunday.

You can find out more about the Women’s World T20 tournament here.


Sri Lanka v Ireland, World T20 Warm-Up match, Coolidge Cricket Ground, Antigua, 7 November 2018

Sri Lanka 85 (18.2 overs; H Madushika 31; L Maritz 3-1, C Raack 2-16)
Ireland 86-2 (13.2 overs; C Shillington 50*, L Delany 15*; U Prabodani 1-8)

Ireland Women won by 8 wickets


The ICC World T20 tournament schedule - Ireland

Group Stage

  • 11 November: Australia v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)
  • 13 November: Pakistan v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)
  • 15 November: India v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)
  • 17 November: New Zealand v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)


  • 22 November: First semi-final, Antigua (20:00 GMT)
  • 22 November: Second semi-final, Antigua (d/n) (00:00 GMT, 23 Nov)
  • 24 November: Final, Antigua (d/n) (00:00 GMT, 25 Nov)

All matches will be broadcast on Sky Sports in Ireland/UK.