< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Jake Brown and Tabatha Saville Awarded Premier Cricket's Highest Honours

Jake Brown Awarded Premier Cricket's Highest Honours
Tabatha Saville Awarded Premier Cricket's Highest Honours

Jake Brown and Tabatha Saville were awarded Premier Cricket’s highest honours on Wednesday night, with Brown taking home the 61st Bradman Medal and Saville awarded the 13th Karen Rolton Medal.

Recognising the cricketer who polls the highest number of votes cast by umpires in the West End First Grade competition, Kensington captain Brown polled 39 Bradman Medal votes to finish eight ahead of last year’s winner Kelvin Smith (West Torrens).

Adelaide University’s Sam Kerber finished third, on 26 votes.

Brown joins an elite club of three-time winners, alongside Adelaide’s Luke Williams, Sturt’s John Lill and Adelaide University’s Robert O’Shannassy.

He received an astonishing 17 votes more than last year’s joint winners Smith and Conor McInerney (Woodville).

It is the ninth time a Kensington player has taken home the Bradman, with batting allrounder Brown previously winning in two consecutive years (2013-14 and 2014-15).

Brown’s brilliant season began with scores of 83 or more in five of his first six innings, including three centuries.

He finished the minor rounds with 721 runs at an average of 65.55, coming in third place overall for most runs, and also took 15 wickets at 21.33.

The Karen Rolton Medal recognises the female cricketer who polls the highest number of votes cast by umpires in the Statewide Super First Grade competition.

Northern Districts’ Saville was awarded the Karen Rolton Medal for her outstanding season with both bat and ball.

She compiled 406 runs from eight matches with an average of 58, which included one century and three half-centuries.

Also a handy off-spin bowler, Saville nabbed seven wickets at 12.24, with best figures of 3/13.

It is the second time that a Northern Districts player has taken home the award since the Medal’s inception, with Saville only preceded by Tegan McPharlin (2013-14) back when the Jets and Tea Tree Gully had a combined First Grade side.

Saville won with 25 votes, with second place a tie between Bridget Patterson and Sarah Lowe, both from Kensington, with 16 votes. McPharlin came in third, just one vote behind Patterson and Lowe.

Bradman Medal
Winner: Jake Brown (Kensington) 39 votes
2. Kelvin Smith (West Torrens) 31 votes
3. Sam Kerber (Adelaide University) 26 votes

Karen Rolton Medal
Winner: Tabatha Saville (Northern Districts) 25 votes
=2. Sarah Lowe (Kensington) 16 votes
=2. Bridget Patterson (Kensington) 16 votes
3. Tegan McPharlin (Northern Districts) 15 votes

2018-19 West End Premier Cricket Men’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches and selected by a three-person panel:
Jake Winter (Glenelg), Jake Brown (Kensington, captain), Kelvin Smith (West Torrens), Brad Davis (Sturt, wicketkeeper), Ben Pengelley (Adelaide), Tom Andrews (Woodville), Sam Kerber (Adelaide University), Ben Hutchinson (Tea Tree Gully), Nick Benton (Port Adelaide), Bailey Wightman (Adelaide University), Tim Oakley (Tea Tree Gully), Ben Wakim (Adelaide University)

Men’s Coach of the Year – Russell Thompson (Kensington)
Men’s Umpire of the Year – Craig Thomas

2018-19 Statewide Super Premier Cricket Women’s Team of the Year – voted on by captains and coaches and selected by a three-person panel:
Tegan McPharlin (Northern Districts, captain), Bridget Patterson (Kensington), Tabatha Saville (Northern Districts), Lauren Ebsary (West Torrens), Jessica O’Reilly (Southern District), Kelly Armstrong (Southern District), Kylie Rattray (Southern District, wicketkeeper), Tahlia McGrath (West Torrens), Ellie Falconer (West Torrens), Neisha Iles (Northern Districts), Stacey Oates (Sturt), Samantha Betts (Northern Districts)

Women’s Coach of the Year – Hannah Sampson (Southern District)
Premier Cricket Volunteer of the Year – Greg Patterson (Adelaide)

Fred Godson Medal (West End One Day Cup Player of the Series) – Jake Brown (Kensington)
Darren Lehmann Medal (West End Twenty20 Cup Player of the Series) – Ben Pengelley (Adelaide) and Jake Winter (Glenelg – ineligible)
CW Walker Memorial Trophy (Most Outstanding Wicketkeeper) – Damon Kerr (Port Adelaide)
Talbot Smith Fielding Trophy – Ben Hutchinson (Tea Tree Gully)
Jason Gillespie Medal (Male Rising Star) – Tim Oakley (Tea Tree Gully)
KC Butler Medal (Second Grade Men) – Shane Chatto (Port Adelaide)
Sid Daly Medal (Third Grade Men) – Jamie Panelli (Kensington)
McLeod/Wilson Medal (Fourth Grade Men) – Luke Smoker (Adelaide University)

Shelley Nitschke Medal (Statewide Super Twenty20 Cup Player of the Series) – Ellie Falconer (West Torrens)
Marg Jude Wicketkeeping Trophy – Kylie Rattray (Southern District)
Joanne Broadbent Fielding Trophy – Brooke Harris (West Torrens)
Lyn Fullston Medal (Second Grade Women) – Dani Reid (Prospect)

© Cricket World 2019

Official Cricket Australia Website
Official Cricket Australia Website