< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Jamaica Tallawahs end Trinbago Knight Riders' winning streak


Jamaica Tallawahs 148-6 (Sangakkara 47) beat
Trinbago Knight Riders 147 (Munro 41) by four wickets
Seventh match, Caribbean Premier League, Port of Spain

After three wicket hauls from Kesrick Williams and Odean Smith dismissed Trinbago Knight Riders for 147 runs, Jamaica Tallawahs managed to chase down the target in 19.2 overs with four wickets in hand in the seventh match of Caribbean Premier League at Port of Spain.

Jamaica won the toss and decided to bowl first. Brendon McCullum (16) and Sunil Narine (23) started the innings positively, scoring 20 runs off the first over.

Even though, Jamaica raced to 30 for naught in two overs, Williams (3-26) provided the initial breakthrough when he had McCullum caught at mid off. Colin Munro (41) kept Knight Riders upbeat with a blistering knock as they reached 70 for two in the powerplay.

Darren Bravo (33) joined the onslaught with two sixes and a four in the seventh over, Jamaica Tallawahs pulled back things in the final 10 overs in which they conceded just 38 runs and claimed seven wickets to restrict the hosts to 147 runs. Williams and Smith (3-20) were the pick of the Jamaica bowlers with three wickets each.

Kumar Sangakkara (47) looked solid at the start but Lendl Simmons (38) injected momentum into the innings with a 18-ball quick innings to set the platform for the chase.

Simmons fell in the final over of the powerplay by the end of which Jamaica were positioned 64 for one. Kevon Cooper (2-25) and Sunin Narine (2-21) picked two wickets each to bring Trinbago Knight Riders back into the game, Jamaica Tallawahs held their nerve and completed the chase in 19.2 overs with four wickets in hand.

Williams was awarded the player of the match for his splendid bowling performance.

Watch live cricket streaming of all the CPL 2017 matches with our partners.

© Cricket World 2017