< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

James Faulkner recalled for limited overs series against India

James Faulkner was overlooked for Champions Trophy
James Faulkner was overlooked for Champions Trophy

Australia have recalled all-rounder James Faulkner for the One-Day International series against India that begins next month.

The 27-year-old last played for Australia during the Chappell Hadlee Trophy against New Zealand earlier this year and was overlooked for the subsequent series including the Champions Trophy due to dip in form.

Western Australia all-rounder Hilton Cartwright has also been called up to the squad and is set for a debut in the 50-over format while there have also been recalls for Ashton Agar and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Meanwhile, Mitchell Starc has been rested for the series to give him more time to recover from the foot injury and regain full fitness for the Ashes series to follow.

"We have recently reviewed the progress of Mitchell's right foot injury and the healing process has been slower than we would have liked," team physio David Beakley said in a statement.

"Consequently, in order to ensure his best possible preparation for the Ashes, he will be unavailable for the tour of India and will continue his rehab in Australia with an aim to have him play for New South Wales in the domestic one-day cup."

Uncapped Western Australia fast bowler Jason Behrendorff has been drafted into the Twenty20 International squad which also has a recall for Daniel Christian. Matthew Wade's place in the shorter format has been taken by Tim Paine, who was part of the T20I squad of Australia against Sri Lanka in February.

ODI squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

T20I squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

© Cricket World 2017