< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Jason Holder spoke to members of the media at the end of the first Test match against India

Jason Holder
Jason Holder
©CWI media

West Indies captain Jason Holder spoke to members of the media at the end of the first Test match against India at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground. The series is the MyTeam11 Test Series, co-sponsored by Skoda and KEI.

Follow West Indies: www.windiescricket.com

Scores: INDIA 297 (Ajinkya Rahane 81, Ravindra Jadeja 58, KL Rahul 44, Hanuma Vihari 32, Rishabh Pant 24; Kemar Roach 4-66, Shannon Gabriel 3-71, Roston Chase 2-58) and 343 for seven decl. (Ajinkya Rahane 102, Hanuma Vihari 93, Virat Kohli 51, KL Rahul 38, Cheteshwar Pujara 25; Roston Chase 4-132) WEST INDIES 222 (Roston Chase 48, Jason Holder 39, Shimron Hetmyer 35, Shai Hope 24, John Campbell 23; Ishant Sharma 5-43, Mohammed Shami 2-48, Ravindra Jadeja 2-64) and 100 (Kemar Roach 38; Jasprit Bumrah 5-7, Ishant Sharma 3-31, Mohammed Shami 2-13)

The visitors won by 318 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the two-match series. West Indies were set 419 but fell to fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah (8-4-7-5). Kemar Roach topscored with 38 which included five sixes as he added a last wicket stand of 50 with Miguel Cummins (19 not out). The Man of the Match award went to Ajinkya Rahane, who made his tenth Test century in the second innings to follow up a solid half-century he made in the first innings.

 “We fell short by quite a few runs. It was a good pitch but we just didn’t get the runs and the big scores required. Bumrah bowled some exceptional deliveries, he’s a very good bowler, but we have to find ways to negate it,” Holder said. “There’s no point dropping our heads – that’s not the solution. We have to find a way to bring ourselves back out of this defeat, try to rally around one another and try to come back a lot better in Jamaica.”

The two teams now travel to Jamaica for the second Test at Sabina Park in Kingston. The match starts on Friday, August 30 and first ball daily is 9:30am (10:30am Eastern Caribbean Time).