< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Jason Mohammed to lead Windies in Pakistan T20s

Jason Mohammed has been named the captain of Windies side
Jason Mohammed has been named the captain of Windies side

Cricket West Indies has confirmed middle-order batsman Jason Mohammed as the skipper of the national side for the upcoming three-match Twenty20 International series in Pakistan.

The decision follows after a number of top players including regular skipper Carlos Brathwaite, Evin Lewis and Chris Gayle have pulled out of the series due to security concerns.

Chairman of Cricket West Indies selection panel Courtney Browne stated that the players were consulted before the squad was announced and the upcoming series willl provide an excellent opportunity for some new faces to grab their chances.

"We had a few players that opted not to tour Pakistan, due to their or their families' security concerns and CWI have fully accepted their position," said Browne.

This series, therefore, provides opportunities for new players to state their claim for a regular place in the team, plus gain vital experience in different conditions. We expect the series to be highly competitive".

Andre McCarthy and Odean Smith, who are part of Windies A have been selected in the squad for the first time while Keemo Paul, who made his ODI debut in the ICC World Cup Qualifiers will make his debut in the T20Is.

There were also recalls for Veerasammy Permaul and Denesh Ramdin to resume their international career while Chadwick Walton will be the back-up wicket-keeper in the squad.

The three-game series will be played on 1st, 2nd and 3rd April with National Stadium in Karachi being the venue.

Windies squad: Jason Mohammed (captain), Samuel Badree, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Andre McCarthy, Keemo Paul, Veerasammy Permaul, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Marlon Samuels, Odean Smith, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams

© Cricket World 2018