Jayawardene Guides Sri Lanka To Idea Cup Victory

Jayawardene Guides Sri Lanka To Idea Cup Victory
Jayawardene Guides Sri Lanka To Idea Cup Victory
©REUTERS/Andrew Biraj (BANGLADESH - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Bookmark and Share

Sri Lanka 249-6 (Jayawardene 71no, Sangakkara 55) beat
India 245 (Raina 106, Sehwag 42, Kulasekara 4-42) by four wickets
 I TV Reaction
Idea Cup One-Day International tri-series final, Mirpur

An unbeaten half-century from Mahela Jayawardene steered Sri Lanka to a four-wicket victory over India in the Idea Cup final in Mirpur.

An outstanding Suresh Raina century rescued India from a desperate position but despite rallying from 60 for five to be bowled out for 245, they failed to put enough runs on the board, Jayawardene unbeaten on 71 in the penultimate over as Sri Lanka got home.

Sri Lanka chose to field and secured five quick wickets as India struggled to put runs on the board but Raina's 106 in 111 balls enabled them to fight back and post a competitive score.

After ten overs, Sri Lanka had ripped through the Indian top order and despite Virender Sehwag rattling along (42 off 27 balls), he too was dismissed to leave India 60 for five.

Superb bowling by both opening bowlers, Nuwan Kulasekara and Chanaka Welagedara coupled with loose driving by the Indian batsmen gave Kumar Sangakkara three catches and Thilan Samaraweera one at first slip, to dismiss the dangerous Yuvraj Singh.

When Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was caught and fifth out his dismissal gave Sangakkara his 300th ODI catch to put him third after Adam Gilchrist and Mark Boucher in the all-time list for wicket-keepers.

That brought Raina and Ravi Jadeja (38) together and they added a priceless 106 for the sixth wicket, Jadeja playing patiently while Raina attacked, hitting ten fours and one big six over midwicket.

Jadeja was dismissed when Tillakaratne Dilshan had him trapped in front immediately after the mandatory ball change and wickets then tumbled, Raina finally dismissed when he was bowled by Welagedara.

Kulasekara finished with figures of four for 48 and Welagedara three for 53 before Thissara Perera ended India's resistance by bowling Shanthakumaran Sreesanth for four in the 49th over.

Sri Lanka made as poor a start to their run chase as India had when Upul Tharanga pushed Ashish Nehra to Kohli at slip with no score on the board but a 93-run partnership between Sangakkara (55) and Dilshan (49) steadied the innings.

Dilshan was unable to make his usual flying start but Sangakkara took charge of the situation much as Raina had for India, hitting eight fours in a 51-ball innings before Dilshan found his feet with the same number of boundaries before he was caught behind by Dhoni off of the first ball bowled by Yuvraj Singh.

Sangakkara followed soon after when he edged Harbhajan Singh to Sehwag at slip and when Samaraweera (27) chopped Jadeja onto his stumps and Thilina Kandamby (18) was trapped in front by Harbhajan, India had Sri Lanka under some pressure.

That pressure increased when Jadeja brillantly ran out Suraj Randiv (17) but Jayawardene remained calm and resisted India's comeback.

After Perera managed to take six runs from the 48th over, Jayawardene finished off the game by hitting three fours from the first three balls of the penultimate over to win the game in style.

 © Cricket World 2010

Bookmark and Share