Jeffrey Vandersay included in Sri Lanka T20I squad

Jeffrey Vandersay makes a return to Sri Lanka T20I squad
Jeffrey Vandersay makes a return to Sri Lanka T20I squad

Sri Lanka selectors have recalled leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay for the solitary Twenty20 International against India to be played on 6th September in Colombo.

The 27-year-old last played for Sri Lanka in the format in March 2016 during the ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India and has played seven matches in which he snared four wickets at an economy of 7.37. He has also featured for Sri Lanka in seven One-Day Internationals.

The squad captained by Upul Tharanga also has the experienced Angelo Mathews along with Lasith Malinga, who had an ordinary ODI series against India which his side lost 0-5.

Suranga Lakmal, who missed the ODI series against India has recovered from a back problem while Akila Dananjaya's strong performances in the 50-over format have earned him a place in T20I squad as well.

Kusal Mendis has been rested for the game after a gruelling schedule while Dushmantha Chameera and Vishwa Fernando have been omitted from the squad.

Sri Lanka squad for T20I against India:

Upul Tharanga (captain), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dilshan Munaweera, Dasun Shanaka, Milinda Siriwardana, Wanindu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Isuru Udana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal and Vikum Sanjaya.

© Cricket World 2017