< >
Cricket Betting us

Jess Jonassen to lead Governer-General's XI against India

Jess Jonassen
Jess Jonassen will captain the Governer-General's XI against India Women
©REUTERS / Action Images

Jess Jonassen will lead the Governer-General's XI against the touring India Women in the first game of its kind on Friday (22nd January).

Jonassen, who has played one Test, 25 One-Day Internationals and 34 Twenty20 Internationals for her country, has been named skipper of a 12-player squad that will represent His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC.

Cricket Australia's Women's National Selection Panel (WNSP) has included players with international experience in Holly Ferling, Grace Harris, Delissa Kimmince, and Beth Mooney in the squad.

"2016 has been a great summer of women’s cricket and this group of players have been a big part of that," the Governor-General said.

"Being selected in the Governor-General’s XI gives these cricketers the opportunity to test their mettle  against India’s best.

"I am sure this match will be a great experience for all who come to cheer them on," he added.

Alongside the more experienced players in the squad are young players who have impressed in the inaugural Women's Big Bash League including Molly Strano, Sophie Molineux and Amanda-Jade Wellington.

"We will also watch with interest the performances of a number of emerging players like Molly Strano, Sophie Molineux and Amanda-Jade Wellington," Shawn Fleger, WNSP chairman, said.

"These players have all impressed over the course of the WBBL season and we look forward to seeing how they perform against an experienced Indian line-up.

"We congratulate the players on their selection for this important match following strong domestic performances this summer.

"We look forward to developing this annual fixture into a truly great Australian sporting tradition and are honoured to do so with the support of the Governor-General."

The match will be played at Sydney's Drummoyne Oval and entry is free to spectators.

Australia host India for three One-Day and three Twenty20 Internationals between 26th January and 7th February.

CA Governer-General XI squad: Jess Jonassen (captain), Sarah Beard, Holly Ferling, Grace Harris, Delissa Kimmince, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Bridget Patterson, Alexandra Price, Molly Strano, Amanda-Jade Wellington

© Cricket World 2016