< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Jhye Richardson Withdrawn from World Cup Squad

Jhye Richardson Withdrawn from World Cup Squad
Jhye Richardson Withdrawn from World Cup Squad

Australian fast bowler, Jhye Richardson, has been withdrawn from Australia’s World Cup Squad as he continues to recover from the shoulder dislocation he suffered in the UAE in March.

After a recent scan and testing with the team’s medical staff, it was determined that Jhye was not going to be ready to bowl at the level required for him to be considered for selection at the start of the World Cup.

Bupa Team Support Physiotherapist, David Beakley, said:

“This is obviously very disappointing news for the team and for Jhye, who has been exceptional throughout his rehabilitation process.
“After his most recent assessment and attempting to bowl in the nets, it was clear that Jhye was not progressing as fast as required and therefore, in consultation with selectors, we made the decision to withdraw him from the squad.
“Jhye will continue with his rehabilitation and we will look to resume bowling in the coming weeks. At this stage we are still hopeful that he could be available for the Australia A tour of England.”
Kane Richardson has been called up to replace Jhye in Australia’s World Cup Squad.

Australian Men’s World Cup Squad:

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)
Usman Khawaja (Queensland)
David Warner (New South Wales)
Steve Smith (New South Wales)
Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)
Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)
Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)
Alex Carey (vc) (South Australia)
Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)
Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)
Kane Richardson (South Australia)
Nathan Coulter-Nile (Western Australia)
Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia)
Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)
Adam Zampa (South Australia)

Australia’s World Cup Fixture:

Match 1 – June 1
Afghanistan v Australia
Bristol County Ground, Bristol
1:30pm (Local Time)

Match 2 – June 6
Australia v West Indies
Trent Bridge, Nottingham
10:30am (Local Time)
Match 3 – June 9
India v Australia
The Oval, London
10:30am (Local Time)
Match 4 – June 12
Australia v Pakistan
Country Ground Taunton, Taunton
10:30am (Local Time)
Match 5 – June 15
Sri Lanka v Australia
The Oval, London
10:30am (Local Time)
Match 6 - June 20
Australia v Bangladesh
Trent Bridge, Nottingham
10:30am (Local Time)
Match 7 – June 25
England v Australia
Lord’s, London
10:30am (Local Time)
Match 8 – June 29
New Zealand v Australia
Lord’s, London
1:30pm (Local Time)
Match 9 – July 6
Australia v South Africa
Old Trafford, Manchester
1:30pm (Local Time)
Semi Finals – July 9 and 11
World Cup Final – July 14


“The National Selection Panel has announced its fourteen-player squad for the Australia A Tour of England starting on June 20,” Hohns said.

“The tour will see Australia A play five one day matches against County teams while the ICC World Cup is underway. This will provide us with the appropriate coverage to bring players into the Australian World Cup squad if required.

“Australia A will open its tour of England with a one-day match against Northamptonshire at The County Ground, Northamptonshire.”

Australia A Men’s One Day Squad:

Travis Head (c) (South Australia)
Matthew Wade (Tasmania)
Will Pucovski (Victoria)
Peter Handscomb (Victoria)
Ashton Turner (Western Australia)
Mitch Marsh (vc) (Western Australia)
D’Arcy Short (Western Australia)
Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)
Ashton Agar (Western Australia)
Michael Neser (Queensland)
James Pattinson (Victoria)
Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales)
Kane Richardson (South Australia)
Sean Abbott (New South Wales)

Australia A Tour of England Fixture:

Match 1 – June 20
Australia A v Northamptonshire
The County Ground, Northamptonshire
TBC (Local Time)
Match 2 – June 23
Australia A v Derbyshire
County Ground, Derby
TBC (Local Time)
Match 3 – June 25
Australia A v Worcestershire
New Road, Worcester
TBC (Local Time)
Match 4 – June 30
Australia A v Gloucestershire
Bristol Country Ground, Bristol
TBC (Local Time)
Match 5 – July 2
Australia A v Gloucestershire
Bristol Country Ground, Bristol
TBC (Local Time)


“We have announced a fourteen-player squad for the Australia A Four Day Tour of England starting on July 7,” Hohns said.

“The tour will see Australia A play three four-day tour matches in the build up to the Ashes Tour of England, providing the players with a good opportunity to push their case for selection.

“We have Joe Burns, Cameron Bancroft, Marnus Labuschagne, Matthew Renshaw, Peter Siddle and Daniel Worrall in our sights but they have not been included in the squad and will continue to play through this period with their County teams.

“However, we have made it clear that strong form with their County teams will be taken into account for selection in the Ashes squad or the Australia v Australia A tour match.

“Following the four-day tour match in Hampshire we will be in a position to announce our squad for the Ashes.”

Australia A Four Day Squad:

Tim Paine (c) (Tasmania)
Marcus Harris (Victoria)
Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)
Will Pucovski (Victoria)
Travis Head (vc) (South Australia)
Peter Handscomb (Victoria)
Matthew Wade (Tasmania)
Mitch Marsh (Western Australia)
Michael Neser (Queensland)
Jon Holland (Victoria)
James Pattinson (Victoria)
Jackson Bird (Tasmania)
Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales)
Chris Tremain (Victoria)

Australia A Four Day Fixture:

Match 1 – July 7
Australia A v Sussex
Arundel Castle Cricket Ground, Arundel
TBC (Local Time)
Match 2 – July 13
Australia A v England Lions
The Spitfire Ground, Canterbury
TBC (Local Time)
Match 3 – July 23
Australia v Australia A
Ageas Bowl, Hampshire
TBC (Local Time)


“We believe the 2019/20 contract list provides us with a versatile group of players who can represent Australia across all three formats over the contract period,” Hohns said.
“Our key criteria focused on selecting a pool of players who are going to help us in our ambition to win the upcoming World Cup and Ashes Series in England, and who can also play the various formats over the course of the Australian summer.”
Patrick Cummins
Nathan Coulter-Nile
Alex Carey
Aaron Finch
Usman Khawaja
Peter Handscomb
Marcus Harris
Travis Head
Josh Hazlewood
Nathan Lyon
Glenn Maxwell
Shaun Marsh
Tim Paine
James Pattinson
Jhye Richardson
Steve Smith
Mitchell Starc
Marcus Stoinis
David Warner
Adam Zampa

© Cricket World 2019

Official Cricket Australia Website
Official Cricket Australia Website