Joe Root Given Central Contract


Batsman Joe Root is the only new beneficiary as England name the 11 players who will be given central contracts for the 2013-14 season.

Having quickly become a key member of England's Test, One-Day International and Twenty20 International squads, his inclusion comes as no surprise.

Eoin Morgan, who was awarded a central contract in 2012 has not been awarded a new contract.

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) also confirmed that they have come to an agreement with the Professional Cricketers' Association that lasts until October 2019, including four Ashes series and five global events.

Individual contracts will continue to be offered for 12-month periods with a framework covering remuneration and a set of agreements on playing and management matters have also been agreed.

"Contracts are on-going recognition for those players who have regularly been selected for England and have performed consistently, as well as those players we feel are likely to play an important role for England over the next year," ECB National Selector Geoff Miller said.
"Congratulations to Joe Root who is the one addition to the list of players awarded a central contract and this reflects the important role Joe has played for England since making his international debut last year and will I'm sure continue to play across all formats."
Hugh Morris, Managing Director England Cricket, said: "We are delighted to have concluded a six-year deal and to have all contractual issues resolved in advance of what we all hope to be another successful Ashes tour. We thank the PCA, Team England Player Partnership and the ECB Board for reaching this agreement which now allows the players to focus solely on cricket, not just during this tour, but for a considerable period beyond."
Angus Porter, PCA Chief Executive, added: "I am pleased that we have secured a fair and appropriate long term agreement, and have done so via amicable and constructive dialogue."

England 2012-13 centrally-contracted players: James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Steven Finn, Kevin Pietersen, Matthew Prior, Joe Root, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott

© Cricket World