Johnson, Bumrah lead Mumbai Indians to third IPL title win

Mumbai Indians won the 2013 and 2015 editions of IPL as well
Mumbai Indians won the 2013 and 2015 editions of IPL as well

Mumbai Indians 129-8 (Krunal 47) beat
Rising Pune Supergiant 128-6 (Smith 51) by one run
Indian Premier League final in Hyderabad

Mitchell Johnson and Jasprit Bumrah shared five wickets between them as Mumbai Indians managed to defend 129 runs against Rising Pune Supergiant by just one run in the final in Hyderabad to win their third Indian Premier League title.

This was also Mumbai's third Indian Premier League triumph after previously winning it in 2013 and 2015 editions.

After Pune conceded just seven runs in the first two overs, Jaydev Unadkat (2-19) produced a brilliant double wicket third over where he accounted for both Lendl Simmons (3) and Parthiv Patel (4).

Rohit Sharma (24) plundered four boundaries in the fifth over as Mumbai Indians ended the powerplay at 41 for two.

Ambati Rayudu (12) had another failure as he misjudged a run after nudging a delivery to mid off, where Steven Smith picked and hit the stumps direct at non strikers end and at the halfway mark, Mumbai were placed 56 for three.

Any hopes of a Mumbai revival was put off by Adam Zampa's (2-32) two-wicket 11th over where he accounted for both Rohit and Kieron Pollard (7). With Hardik Pandya (7) and Karn Sharma (1) too failing, Mumbai were reeling at 79 for seven.

A 50-run stand in the end between Krunal Pandya (47) and Johnson (13 not out) provided some consolation for Mumbai in the end as they finished their innings at 129 for eight. Unadkat, Zampa and Daniel Christian (2-34) picked two wickets apiece for Pune.

Pune openers Ajinkya Rahane (44) and Rahul Tripathi (3) scored 17 runs in the first 13 deliveries before Bumrah (2-26) trapped the latter LBW in the third over. Rahane had an early reprieve when Krunal (0-31) dropped him in the covers. Pune finished the powerplay at 38 for two.

Mumbai started to build a little bit of pressure in the Pune innings as they conceded just 20 runs in the next four overs and it became evident after Rahane holed out to long on off Johnson (3-26) ending his 54 run stand with Steven Smith (51).

Despite, MS Dhoni (10) joining force with Smith, Pune found it hard to find the boundaries and the target was down to 47 runs off the final five overs. Dhoni hit a boundary in the 15th over from Krunal while Smith plundered a switch hit six to bring down the target to 33 runs off final four.

This is when Bumrah produced a game changing 17th over where he conceded just three runs and also had Dhoni caught behind and Lasith Malinga (0-21) followed it with a seven run 18th over to exert more pressure on Pune.

The first four deliveries of the penultimate over from Bumrah went for just four runs but Smith hit a six and followed it with a couple to ensure Pune needed just 11 runs off the final over to be bowled by Johnson.

Even though, Manoj Tiwary (7) struck a boundary off the first ball, Johnson had both Tiwary and Smith caught in the next two deliveries. With four runs needed off the final delivery, Daniel Christian (4) could manage just two runs and was run out while attempting for a third run to hand a thrilling one run victory to Mumbai. Krunal was awarded the player of the match for his match winning knock.

England and Pune all-rounder Ben Stokes was awarded the most valuable player of the tournament while David Warner and Bhuvneshwar Kumar of Sunrisers Hyderabad won the orange and purple cap awards respectively.

© Cricket World 2017


Player Profiles