< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Johnson Charles to replace Darren Bravo in West Indies World T20 squad

Johnson Charles to replace Darren Bravo in West Indies World T20 squad
Johnson Charles last played for West Indies in November 2015.

West Indies selectors have named opening batsman Johnson Charles as the replacement for Darren Bravo in the ICC World Twenty20 squad.

Earlier, Bravo pulled out of the marquee tournament as he wanted to focus more on the longer format of the game and preferred playing the domestic four-day competition instead of the T20 mega-event.

Charles on the other hand, last played for West Indies during the T20I series against Sri Lanka in November and his highest score of 84 came during the quarter-finals of the previous edition of the World T20 against England in Pallekele.

Apart from Bravo, West Indies will also miss the services of Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine, both pulling out of the tournament for different reasons.

Pollard is yet to recover from a knee injury while Narine hasn't made significant progress in his remedial work on the bowling action after he was suspended from bowling in November. 

West Indies are placed in Group 1 of the Super 10 stage along with England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and a team from the qualifying stage and will begin their campaign on 16th March against Eoin Morgan's men.

West Indies squad for ICC World T20:

Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor 

© Cricket World 2016