< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Johnson to lead Breakers vs Meteors

Johnson to lead Breakers vs Meteors
Johnson to lead Breakers vs Meteors

All-rounder Sammy-Jo Johnson will lead a 13-player NSW Breakers squad for the competition leaders’ Women’s National Cricket League fixture against the ACT Meteors at North Sydney Oval on Tuesday.

The Breakers have won all three of their matches so far this season – twice defeating Victoria in December, before thrashing the Meteors by 207 runs in Canberra early last month.

The squad includes uncapped bowler Ange Genford and batter Claire Moore, while veteran Erin Burns, speedsters Maitlan Brown and Stella Campbell, and prodigious batter Phoebe Litchfield are all back following international duties with Australia A.

Genford and Saskia Horley are the uncontracted players in the squad.

Opening batter Rachel Trenaman also returns to the group for the first time this summer after suffering a knee injury during pre-season training that saw her miss the entire WBBL.

Breakers head coach Gavan Twining said his young side was eager to restart their season.

“This has been a disrupted season with all of the relative border closures and quarantine situations but our players have shown an encouraging level of maturity to just keep working through all the challenges.

“This is a young squad but players like Stella Campbell, Phoebe Litchfield and Maitlan Brown have been away with the Australian teams and have demonstrated time and time again their potential.

“It is great to see Rachel Trenaman back too. She has worked extremely hard with our medical staff over a number of months to ensure she could get back on the field this summer.”

Hannah Darlington, Lauren Cheatle and Emma Hughes were not considered for health / injury reasons, while Alyssa Healy, Rachael Haynes and Ash Gardner are in New Zealand for the ICC World Cup.

WNCL February 22, 2022 - NSW v ACT (D/N) @ North Sydney Oval (1400)

NSW Breakers Squad:
Jade Allen
Maitlan Brown
Erin Burns
Stella Campbell
Ange Genford
Saskia Horley
Sammy-Jo Johnson (c)
Anika Learoyd
Phoebe Litchfield
Claire Moore
Lauren Smith
Rachel Trenaman
Tahlia Wilson

The fixture will be streamed live via cricket.com.au and Kayo Sports, while spectator information will be released over the weekend.

Official Cricket Australia Website