< >
Cricket Betting us

Johnson Wins Australian Player Of The Year Award

Mitchell Johnson
Mitchell Johnson adds the 2014 Allan Border medal to his 2009 ICC Cricketer Of The Year award
©REUTERS / Action Images

Mitchell Johnson has been rewarded for his role in helping Australia regain The Ashes by winning the 2014 Allan Border Medal as Australia's Player Of The Year for 2013.

Johnson beat captain Michael Clarke and all-rounder James Faulkner by 168 votes to 156 and 121 respectively to win the award.

Johnson took 37 wickets during the series against England on his return to Test cricket with three man-of-the-match awards.

Clarke was named as the Test Player Of The Year, George Bailey the One-Day International Player Of The Year and Aaron Finch the Twenty20 International Player Of The Year.

Newly-appointed vice-captain Meg Lanning won the Belinda Clark award for the leading women's player and Cameron White (Domestic Cricketer Of The Year) and Jordan Silk (Young Cricketer Of The Year) were the other award-winners.

Former internationals Clark and Mark Waugh were both inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame.

The awards are voted for by players, media and umpires; following each game, the top three are selected by the voting parties and these votes, after a weighting is applied for the different formats, are tallied up for the overall results.

Allan Border Medal winners

2000: Glenn McGrath
2001: Steve Waugh
2002: Matthew Hayden
2003: Adam Gilchrist
2004: Ricky Ponting
2005: Michael Clarke
2006, 2007: Ricky Ponting
2008: Brett Lee
2009: Michael Clarke & Ricky Ponting
2010, 2011: Shane Watson
2012, 2013: Michael Clarke
2014: Mitchell Johnson

© Cricket World 2014