Jos Buttler aims to make it to England's Ashes squad

Jos Buttler has played 18 Tests for England
Jos Buttler has played 18 Tests for England

England wicket-keeper batsman Jos Buttler is desperately hoping to feature in the Test squad for the upcoming Ashes series to be played in Australia later this year.

Buttler, who was part of all five Tests during the 2015 Ashes which England won 3-2 has overall featured in 18 games in the longer format with his last appearance coming in December last year during the tour of India.

His dip in form in Tests coupled with the emergence of Jonny Bairstow, who is second in the list of the leading run-scorers behind Joe Root since January 2016 saw Buttler dropped out of contention.

"I was a child of the 2005 Ashes and I think that is still the best series of cricket ever," said Buttler.

"Having been part of an Ashes series in 2015, for any English or Australian player you know that's what it's all about and the Ashes is still the main thing.

"You want to be involved with England all the time, it's something incredibly special to be a part of and when you're not involved you know what you're missing out on. Everybody's ambition should be to play for England in all three formats."

In the four matches in this season of County Championship, Buttler scored just 103 runs at an average of 17.19.

The 27-year-old has a phenomenal record in the limited overs format for England in which he has amassed 3474 runs from 153 matches spread across both One-Day Internationals and Twenty20 Internationals but was unable to replicate the same effect in the Test format.

"Whatever format you play in you need to be scoring runs," said Buttler.

"I have known my own game in one-day cricket for a number of years but in red-ball cricket it is still frustratingly something I'm trying to work out.

"One of the skills of modern cricketers is that you have to be able to cross formats. You can't use it as an excuse that you haven't had the time or a run of games. You have to be able to adapt at the switch of a button."

The five-match Ashes series will be played between 23rd November and 8th January with Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Melbourne and Sydney being the venues.

© Cricket World 2017