< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Kabul Zalmi crowned Global Zalmi 2019 Champions

Kabul Zalmi crowned Global Zalmi 2019 Champions as Global Zalmi League 2019 comes to an end in Islamabad. Chairman Javed Afridi thanked all the teams on visiting Pakistan and promised GZL 2020 will be bigger and better.

The final of GZL 2019 was played in the MCI Cricket Stadium in Islamabad between Kabul Zalmi & Manama Zalmi. In the one sided final, Kabul completely dismantled Manama as they bowled them out for 70 runs in 16.4 overs. Qareebullah took 4 wickets for 13 runs and was also awarded man of the match for his brilliant performance. Shehriar scored 18 from Manama.

In reply, Kabul looked eager to win the trophy as they chased down the target in 6 overs and won the match by 10 wickets.

Both teams had been playing superbly in the tournament but Kabul was the better side on the final. Chairman Javed Afridi, Head Coach Mohammad Akram, Advisor to PM Usman Dar & Peshawar Zalmi superstar Umer Amin handed over the trophy and prize money to the winning captain of Kabul Zalmi.

In his statement, Chairman Javed Afridi said that "it was amazing to have all of these 16 International teams in Pakistan. We hope they had a great time and we look forward to hosting them next year as well. GZL 2020 will be bigger and better as we will add 4 new teams and make a total of 20 teams.

Head Coach Mohammad Akram congratulated both the teams and said he was impressed by the quality of cricket which was played by these players. He also said that Peshawar Zalmi management will work on to design the strategy to further develop and improve cricket in their respective countries.

Peshawar Zalmi management would like to especially thank the MCI Corporation Islamabad for their tremendous support throughout the tournament. Chairman Javed Afridi thanked deputy mayor Islamabad Zeeshan Ali Naqvi who was also among the esteemed guests at the closing ceremony.

The competition that was started on 21st March 2019 with 16 teams participated has officially ended with Kabul Zalmi taking the trophy home.


Peshawar Zalmi Media