Kagiso Rabada clean sweeps CSA awards

Kagiso Rabada (left) won six awards after having a sensational last one-year.
Kagiso Rabada (left) won six awards after having a sensational last one-year.
©REUTERS / Action Images

South African pace sensation Kagiso Rabada won as many as six honours at the annual Cricket South Africa (CSA) Awards in Johannesburg.

Rabada made his international debut in November 2014 in a Twenty20 International match but came to fame with his exploits in the Test and One-Day International formats over the past year.

After his ODI debut in July 2015, Rabada went on to take 37 wickets from 20 games at an average of 21.45 while he snared 24 Test wickets from just six matches at 24.70.

Earlier during the home series against England, Rabada became the youngest South African bowler to take a 10-wicket haul when he claimed 13 wickets in the Centurion Test match in January.

For these exploits, Rabada took home both the ODI and Test Cricketer of the Year awards and also won the South African Cricketer of the Year Award.

Apart from these three honours, Rabada won the SA Players’ Player of the Year Award, SA Fans Cricketer of the Year Award and the Delivery of the Year Award.

Among the other awardees were Alviro Pietersen, who claimed the Momentum One-Day Cup Player of the Year award while Albie Morkel took home the Ram Slam Player of the Year award.

Heino Kuhn, who smashed 1126 runs from 10 games in the 2015-16 Sunfoil Series was presented with the Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Year award as well as the Domestic Players’ Player of the Year award.

Nicky van den Bergh won the Domestic Newcomer of the Year award, while Dwaine Pretorius claimed the SACA Most Valuable Player of the Year and Lungi Ngidi was named as the Africa T20 Cup Player of the Year.

Current Otago coach Rob Walters, who oversaw the victorious campaign of the Titans in the 2015-16 Sunfoil Series, was named as the Coach of the Year.

© Cricket World 2016