< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Kallis, Afridi, Taylor Shine In Carribean Premier League Draft

Kallis, Afridi, Taylor Shine In Carribean Premier League Draft
The highlight of the day was when St Kitts & Nevis bagged Pakistan’s all-rounder, Shahid Afridi for $150000.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Carribean Premier League (CPL) 2015 draft kicked off today at Jamaica with Lasith Malinga, Jacques Kallis, Shahid Afridi, Mahela Jayawardene and Ross Taylor are included in this year’s edition.

The highlight of the day was when St Kitts & Nevis bagged Pakistan’s all-rounder, Shahid Afridi for $150000.

Kallis, who retired from International cricket last year, was signed by Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel captained by Dwayne Bravo.

The Sri Lankan pair of Jayawardene and Malinga were drafted in Jamaica Tallawahs led by Chris Gayle and Sunil Narine led Guyana Amazon Warriors respectively.

Chris Lynn and the veteran Brad Hodge were the only two Australians picked in the draft.

Captain of the reigning champions Barbados Tridents, Kieron Pollard was extremely pleased with their picks in today’s draft.

"We got what we wanted," he said.

"We retained the core of our team and tried to go for a different direction, looking for more hungry players, and we did exactly what we wanted to do.

"We knew we wanted Jason Holder on the fifth pick and we got him."

Bravo who announced his retirement from Test cricket recently, was excited to team-up with Kallis.

"We are very happy to get Jacques Kallis - he was the main pick for us.

"We have a very exciting opener in Cameron Delport, and a great wicket keeper and batter in Kamran Akmal.

"The CPL is a great tournament. We have been in the semi finals two years in a row so hopefully we can go one further this year," said the Trinidad & Tobago captain.

Meanwhile former England batsman Kevin Pietersen. who announced earlier that he will be available for the entire tournament was retained by St Lucia Zouks for $80,000.


Barbados Tridents: Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik, Dwayne Smith, Ravi Rampaul, Jason Holder, Rayad Emrit, Dilshan Munaweera, Jonathan Carter, Justin Ontong, Ashley Nurse, Robin Peterson, Akeal Hosein, Navin Stewart, Shai Hope, Kyle Corbin

Coach: Robin Singh

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Sunil Narine, Lasith Malinga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, Thisara Perera, Christopher Barnwell, Brad Hodge, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Devendra Bishoo, Trevon Griffith, Assad Fudadin, Paul Wintz

Coach: Carl Hooper

Jamaica Tallawahs: Chris Gayle, Mahela Jayawardene, Andre Russell, Chris Lynn, Daniel Vettori, Jerome Taylor, Nikita Miller, Chadwick Walton, Krishmar Santokie, Rusty Theron, Narsingh Deonarine, David Bernard Jr, Nkrumah Bonner, Jermaine Blackwood, Horace Miller

Coach: Mickey Arthur

St Lucia Zouks: Darren Sammy, Ross Taylor, Kevin Pietersen, Johnson Charles, Shakib Al Hasan, Andre Fletcher, Shannon Gabriel, Henry Davids, Fidel Edwards, Kemar Roach, Shane Shillingford, Kyle Mayers, Keddy Lesporis, Liam Sebastien, Delorn Johnson

Coach: Stuart Williams

St Kitts & Nevis: Shahid Afridi, Marlon Samuels, Sohail Tanvir, Sheldon Cottrell, Martin Guptill, Carlos Brathwaite, Evin Lewis, Devon Thomas, Raymon Reifer, Tabraiz Shamsi, Orlando Peters, Tonito Willett, Nicolas Pooran, Jacques Taylor, Justin Athanaze

Coach: Eric Simons

Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel: Dwayne Bravo, Jacques Kallis, Darren Bravo, Samuel Badree, Johan Botha, Kevon Cooper, Kamran Akmal, Cameron Delport, Sulieman Benn, Jason Mohammed, Marlon Richards, Miguel Cummins, Javon Searles, William Perkins, Derone Davis

Coach: Simon Helmot

© Cricket World 2015