Kallis Included In South Africa World T20 Squad

Kallis Included In South Africa World T20 Squad
Kallis Included In South Africa World T20 Squad
©REUTERS/Siphiwe Sibeko. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Jacques Kallis has made the cut and has been selected in South Africa’s final 15-man squad for next month’s World Twenty20. Test captain Graeme Smith, who was included in the 30-man provisional squad, has not been included however.

The other notable absentee is fast-bowler Marchant de Lange who has still not recovered from the back injury which ruled him out of the ongoing tour to England. Four other players who have been regulars in South Africa’s Test side during that tour – Imran Tahir, Alviro Petersen, Vernon Philander and Jacques Rudolph – have also been omitted, although none of them were expected to be included and two of them didn’t make the 30-man provisional squad anyway.

Of those who have been picked, Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel return to lead the seam attack after being rested from South Africa’s last Twenty20 assignment – a triangular series in Zimbabwe – and will be backed up by Lonwabo Tsotsobe, as well as all-rounders Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel and Wayne Parnell, who has been selected despite drug allegations hanging over him.

The spin attack, as has increasingly been the case with South Africa in recent times, is strong with as many as five different options to choose from if you include batting all-rounders Faf du Plessis, Justin Ontong and JP Duminy in that count. It will be led by the experienced pairing of Johan Botha and Robin Peterson.

Farhaan Behardien and Justin Ontong, who are currently playing for the ‘A’ side in Ireland have been included as the back-up specialist batsmen.

Commenting on the squad and the role that the Indian Premier League has played in selection, CSA selection convenor Andrew Hudson said, "We have had basically the same squad together for the past year and many of them also produced stand-out performances at the Indian Premier League. [They] will have excellent preparation for the World Twenty20 by finishing the England tour with three [Twenty20] matches there. They may be playing on a different surface to that they will find in Sri Lanka, but they will be able to hone their Twenty20-specific skills."

South Africa squad: AB de Villiers (captain, wicket-keeper), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Johan Botha, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Jacques Kallis, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

© Cricket World 2012




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.

ICC WT20 Final Video