< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Kamran Akmal century steers Peshawar Zalmi into play-off

Kamran Akmal scored unbeaten 107 for Peshawar Zalmi
Kamran Akmal scored unbeaten 107 for Peshawar Zalmi

Peshawar Zalmi 176-3 (Akmal 107no) beat
Lahore Qalandars 172-4 (Devcich 70) by seven wickets
29th game, Pakistan Super League, Sharjah

Kamran Akmal slammed his fourth T20 century as Peshawar Zalmi chased down 173 runs against Lahore Qalandars in the 29th game of the Pakistan Super League in Sharjah to reach the play-off.

Lahore won the toss and opted to bat first. Anton Devcich (70) hit a couple of sixes in the first two overs to kick start the proceedings but Hasan Ali (2-24) castled Fakhar Zaman (6) in the next over.

Devcich was handed a reprieve when he was put down by Umaid Asif (0-41) off his own bowling but Peshawar managed to get rid of Brendon McCullum (7) at the other end as Lahore Qalandars ended the powerplay with a score of 49 for two.

Devcich continued to punish Peshawar bowlers and even went on to complete a 29-ball half-century and he followed it with back to back sixes off Liam Dawson (0-47) in the 13th over. Sameen Gul (1-26) handed second reprieve for Devcich when he dropped him in the 15th over but he fell immediately soon after that.

Sohail Akhtar (30 not out) with his 16-ball cameo helped Lahore Qalandars post 172 for four in the 20 overs.

The chase was all about Akmal (104 not out) as he with brief support from Dwayne Smith (14) took the total to 57 for one in the powerplay. Losing Riki Wessels (4) and Smith did dent the momentum of Peshawar but Akmal went on to complete a 38-ball fifty.

His next fifty though came off just 21 deliveries as he went on to complete his fourth T20 century as Peshawar needed just 13 runs off the final three overs which Saad Nasim (17 not out) completed in style with his eight-ball cameo.

Akmal was named the man of the match as Peshawar now will face Quetta Gladiators in the Eliminator.

Live Cricket Streaming is available from our Live Cricket Streaming Partners for all the PSL 2018 matches in the UK and other countries. 

© Cricket World 2018