< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Kamran Akmal powers Peshawar Zalmi into final of PSL

Kamran Akmal played another terrific match-winning knock
Kamran Akmal played another terrific match-winning knock

Peshawar Zalmi 170-7 (Akmal 77) beat
Karachi Kings 157-2 (Denly 79no) by 13 runs
Eliminator 2, Pakistan Super League, Lahore

Kamran Akmal played a blistering 77-run knock as Peshawar Zalmi completed a 13-run win over Karachi Kings in the rain-hit 16-over Eliminator 2 contest in Lahore to set up a Pakistan Super League final against Islamabad United on Sunday.

Andre Fletcher added 34 from 30 balls while skipper Darren Sammy played a handy cameo of 23 from 12 balls but it was entirely a Kamran Akmal show at the Gaddafi Stadium as the wicket-keeper batsman smashed eight sixes and five boundaries in front of an enthusiastic Pakistani crowd.

Tymal Mills picked 2 for 23 in his three over spell as Usman Khan got 1 for 48 in his quota of three overs, however, it was Ravi Bopara, who was the best of the lot with his medium-pace as he picked 3 for 35 from his three overs as Peshawar set a more than decent target of 171 runs for the Kings to chase in 16 overs.

Joe Denly and Babar Azam did their best to keep the Kings alive into the contest, however, their efforts fell well short by 13 runs at the end of the match.

Denly replicated Akmal's efforts for the Zalmi's as the English eye-catching stroke-maker scored 79 from 46 balls with help of four sixes and nine fours.

Azam added 63 from his 45 ball knock with help of two sixes and six fours.

Sameen Gul was the most impressive bowler from the Kings as the right-arm pacer gave just 20 runs from his three overs while picking the opening wicket of Mukhtar Ahmed (1).

Hasan Ali gave 41 runs from his 4 overs but picked Azam's wicket at a crucial juncture to derail Zalmi's chase wagon.

The final of this edition of the PSL will be played at the National Stadium in Karachi on 25th March Sunday.

Live Cricket Streaming is available from our Live Cricket Streaming Partners for all the PSL 2018 matches in the UK and other countries. 

© Cricket World 2018