< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

LPL 2021 Match 18: Bopara, Perera combine for Kandy Warriors win

Kandy Warriors Ravi Bopara
Kandy Warriors Ravi Bopara

Ravi Bopara and Angelo Perera combine to get Kandy Warriors over the line against Dambulla Giants today at the R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo.

Match Summary

Kandy Warriors vs Dambulla Giants, Match 18, Lanka Premier League

Kandy Warriors 135/4 (19.2 ov)

Dambulla Giants 130/9 (20 ov)

Result - Kandy Warriors won by 6 wickets


Dambulla Giants won the toss and put themselves in to bat, although things didn't go as plan. Binura Fernando (3/22) decimated their openers, with Al-Amin Hossain (3/32) joining him later to clear up the rest.

Sachitha Jayathilake (34) and Ramesh Mendis (41) managed to add some runs but they set Kandy Warriors the low target of 131.

Dambulla Giants bowlers however started strong, Imran Tahir (2/11) taking a few early wickets to make it a contest. Ravi Bopara (58*) and Angelo Perera (29) joined the fray and really made it interesting, pushing it to the wire.

Kandy Warriors eventually got over the line, guided by Bopara and Perera to a 6 wicket win.

Match Stats

Dambulla Giants Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Philip Salt - 1.6 ov), 2-16 (Janith Liyanage - 2.6 ov), 3-20 (Niroshan Dickwella - 3.4 ov), 4-56 (Najibullah Zadran - 10.2 ov), 5-56 (Chamika Karunaratne - 10.5 ov), 6-105 (Sachitha Jayathilake - 17.5 ov), 7-106 (Marchant de Lange - 18.1 ov), 8-118 (Tharindu Ratnayake - 19.1 ov), 9-130 (Ramesh Mendis - 19.6 ov)

Kandy Warriors Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Charith Asalanka - 0.6 ov), 2-41 (Kennar Lewis - 6.5 ov), 3-69 (Minod Bhanuka - 10.3 ov), 4-75 (Kamindu Mendis - 12.1 ov)

Playing XI

KANDY WARRIORS - Minod Bhanuka (WK), Charith Asalanka, Ahmed Shehzad, Angelo Perera (C), Kennar Lewis, Ravi Bopara, Kamindu Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Nimesh Vimukthi, Shiraz Ahmed, Binura Fernando

DAMBULLA GIANTS - Niroshan Dickwella (WK), Philip Salt, Najibullah Zadran, Janith Liyanage, Ramesh Mendis, Dasun Shanaka (C), Sachitha Jayathilake, Imran Tahir, Marchant de Lange, Chamika Karunaratne, Tharindu Ratnayake

Match Details

Date: 16th December, 14:00 PM

Venue: R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo

Toss: Dambulla Giants won the toss & elected to bat

© Cricket World 2021