Kane Williamson appointed Sunrisers Hyderabad captain for 2018 season

Kane Williamson leads New Zealand in all the three formats
Kane Williamson leads New Zealand in all the three formats

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson will lead Sunrisers Hyderabad side for the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League that kicks off on 7th April.

The news follows after regular skipper David Warner has been banned for one-year by Cricket Australia along with Steven Smith following the ball-tampering saga that broke out during the Cape Town Test against South Africa.

Once the ban from the Australian board was announced, the Board of Control for Cricket in India and the IPL governing council jointly confirmed the duo will not take part in the 2018 edition.

"I've accepted the role to stand in as captain for this season," said Williamson.

"It's an exciting opportunity with a talented group of players. I look forward to the challenges ahead."

Williamson has played 15 IPL games since his debut in the 2015 season and has 411 runs at an average of 31.61 and a strike-rate of 129.24.

Sunrisers Hyderabad will face Rajasthan Royals in their opening game of the season on 9th April at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

© Cricket World 2018