< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Kane Williamson To Lead New Zealand

Kane Williamson, James Neesham
Kane Williamson (left) will captain New Zealand in the T20 and ODI series against Pakistan
©REUTERS / Action Images

Kane Willliamson will captain New Zealand during their Twenty20 and One-Day International series against Pakistan as Brendon McCullum, Tim Southee and Trent Boult return home from the United Arab Emirates.

Those three players are being rested and given time to prepare for the home series against Sri Lanka.

Batsmen Ross Taylor and Anton Devcich and fast bowler Adam Milne come into the squad which will play two T20s and five ODIs against Pakistan.

"Managing players’ workloads will be an important part of our summer’s plans and this is simply an example of that," Bruce Edgar, New Zealand Cricket's General Manager National Selection, said.

"On the flipside, it gives us a chance to assess and evaluate other players in contention for the Cricket World Cup squad, and allows us to work on some of our contingency plans - such as developing Kane’s captaincy experience."

Williamson has already captained New Zealand in three ODIs and two T20s, most recently against the West Indies in July.

Edgar added that the decision had been taken before Phil Hughes' death last week.

The first Twenty20 International is on Thursday (4th December).

The limited overs leg of the tour follows a three-match Test series which was drawn 1-1, New Zealand fighting back to win the final Test by an innings and 80 runs in Sharjah after losing the opener in Abu Dhabi and drawing the second Test in Dubai.

New Zealand host Sri Lanka for two Tests, and seven ODIs in December and January. The seven-match ODI series will be their final series prior to the 2015 World Cup, which they co-host with Australia in February and March.

New Zealand ODI/T20I squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Corey Anderson, Dean Brownlie, Anton Devcich, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori

© Cricket World 2014