Kapp Stars As South Africa Progress

Kapp Stars As South Africa Progress
Kapp Stars As South Africa Progress
©ICC/Solaris Images

South Africa Women 207-5 (Kapp 102no) beat
Pakistan Women 81 (Kapp 3-18) by 126 runs.
Women’s World Cup Group B, Cuttack

Marizanne Kapp became the fourth player of the tournament to hit her maiden ODI century as South Africa Women booked their place in the Super Six stage of the ICC Women’s World Cup by thrashing Pakistan Women.

Kapp followed in the footsteps of India’s Thirush Kamini and Harmanpreet Kaur, and New Zealand’s Sophie Devine in choosing the biggest stage of all to reach the milestone. The 23-year-old then returned career-best figures of three for 18 with her medium-pace to cap a dream day all-round.

Kapp’s innings was vital for South Africa as they had slipped to 79 for five in the 24th over after electing to bat before her and Dane van Niekerk helped haul them up to 207 for five. Asmavia Iqbal struck in each of her first two overs, removing vice-captain Trisha Chetty and captain Mignon du Preez. 

After a stand of 46 between Kapp and Yolandi Potgeiter, it was then the turn of Qanita Jalil to step in with a double-strike. She had Potgeiter caught behind for 20 and then bowled the experienced Cri-zelda Brits second ball. When Susan Benade was run-out just 24 runs later South Africa were in trouble.

However, Kapp and van Niekerk would stay together for the remaining 26.1 overs of the innings and add 128 in the process. They negotiated some tight spells from spinners Sana Mir (none for 39), Bismah Maroof (none for 42) and Sadiq Yousuf (none for 28) and took the Proteas past 200. Kapp ended on 102 off 150 balls, with van Niekerk on 55 off 77, having hit the only six of the innings.

Pakistan then lost wickets early in their run chase as South Africa had done, but they couldn’t affect any sort of recovery and were all out for just 81 inside 30 overs. This continued their terrible form with the bat in the competition - they were all out for 84 against Australia and 104 against New Zealand - and means that they will play either Sri Lanka, India or the West Indies in the seventh place play-off.

Susan Benade and Shabnim Islamil took the first four wickets to fall; those of Rabiya Shah, Qanita Jalil, Bismah Maroof and Nain Abidi, before Kapp and Marcia Letsoalo moved in to clean up the tail.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.