< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Karan's whirlwind & Lamichhane's guile takes Nepal to win over Netherlands in pentangular series

Sandeep Lamichhane

The chase looked stiff for Nepal but a 14-ball 31 whirlwind from KC Karan, at a strike rate of over 220, helped them win by four wickets on the penultimate delivery.

Match Summary

Netherlands 133-10 (19.3 Overs) [Max ODowd43(44), Ackermann29(20); KC Karan4/17, Lamichhane4/20]

Nepal 134-6 (19.5 Overs) [Khadka(c)33(41), KC Karan31(14); van der Merwe2/14, Meekeren1/19]

Result - Nepal won by 4 wickets

Nepal won the toss and elected to bowl first. Netherlands did not get off to a good start with opener Tobias Visee getting dismissed on the seventh ball of the match. Max ODowd and Antonius Staal then had a good partnership, taking the team to the 50-run mark.

Colin Ackermann also contributed with 29 but the inning started to fall apart towards the end as they were bowled out for just 133.

KC Karan picked up a 4-wicket haul for Nepal on the back of another 4-fer in the last match. Sandeep Lamichhane was equally threatening and picked up 4 wickets while conceding just 20 runs from his 4 overs.

In reply, Nepal skipper Paras Khadka ensured that he was at one end for the major part of the innings. Despite a 22-ball 26 from last match's hero Binod Bhandari, the chase looked stiff for Nepal at one point with them running behind the required run rate.

That was rectified via a 14-ball 31 whirlwind from KC Karan, at a strike rate of over 220, which helped Nepal win the game by four wickets on the penultimate delivery.

Netherlands- Tobias Visee, Max ODowd, Antonius Staal, Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe, Scott Edwards, Pieter Seelaar, Shane Snater, Brandon Glover, Fred Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren

Nepal- Paras Khadka, Pawan Sarraf, Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Rohit Paudel, Binod Bhandari, Sompal Kami, KC Karan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Abinash Bohara

© Cricket World 2019