< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Kent beat Worcestershire by 2 wickets in last over thriller to reach One Day Cup Final

Heino Kuhn (127) and Alex Blake (61) help Kent beat Worcestershire by 2 wickets

Worcestershire Rapids won the toss and decided to bat at the Blackfinch New Road Ground, Worcester, in their semi-final Royal London One Day Cup tie, against Kent Spitfires today.

Worcestershire Rapids 306-6 (Ben Cox 122*, Brett D'Oliveira 78, Ed Barnard 50*; Darren Stevens 2-33)

Kent Spitfires 307-8 (Heino Kuhn 127, Adam Rouse 70, Alex Blake 61; Patrick Brown 3-53)

Result Kent beat Worcestershire by 2 wickets 

At 48-4, the home side, Worcestershire Rapids, were in some trouble. However, Brett D'Oliveira 78 and wicketkeeper Ben Cox 122*, put on 140 for the 5th wicket and the Rapids kicked on to a total of 306-6 with Ed Barnard 50* supporting Ben Cox towards the end of the innings; Darren Stevens (2-33 off his 10 overs) was the pick of the Kent bowlers.

In reply, Kent Spitfires started poorly with Daniel Bell-Drummond and Joe Denly (c) back in the pavilion with the score just 8, Dillon Pennington taking the wickets for Worcestershire. It was then a rebuilding process for Kent and at 31-3 when Sean Dickson was out, Adam Rouse hit 70 and a great knock from Heino Kuhn 127, put Kent within reach of their target. However, both Blake and Kuhn were out before Podmore finally got them over the line in the last over.  Patrick Brown 3-53 was the pick of the Rapids bowlers.

Kent are off to Lord's, on June 30th, and will play either Yorkshire or Hampshire who play their semi -final tomorrow.


Worcestershire Rapids:  Clarke, Ferguson (c), D’Oliveira, Mitchell, Fell, Cox (w), Whiteley, Barnard,  Rhodes, Morris, Pennington, Brown, Finch

Kent Spitfires: Daniel Bell-Drummond, Joe Denly (c),  Heino Kuhn, Sean Dickson, Alex Blake,  Darren Stevens, Will Gidman, Adam Rouse (wk),  Calum Haggett,  Matt Henry,  Harry Podmore, Mitch Claydon,  Imran Qayyum,  Adam Riley


 For all the latest County News, Previews, Match Reports, Team Analysis and Videos

© Cricket World 2018