< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Kenya Beat Canada To Claim 11th Place

Collins Obuya
Collins Obuya (left) hit 40, as did Steve Tikolo, to set up a victory for Kenya
©International Cricket Council

Kenya 146-7 (Tikolo 40, Obuya 40) beat
Canada 125 (Bagai 48, Tikolo 3-16) by 21 runs
ICC WT20 2014 Qualifier 11th place play-off

Kenya ended their ICC World Twenty20 2014 Qualifier by finishing in 11th place after they won their final match against Canada by 21 runs.

After both sides finished in sixth place in their respective groups, their chances of making it to Bangladesh next year were already gone, and after Kenya posted 146 for seven, Canada were bowled out for 125 in 19.2 overs in Sharjah.

Steve Tikolo got the Kenyans off to a blazing start by hitting 40 in 23 balls, which meant the early departures of Nehemiah Odhiambo (15) and Duncan Allan (18) hardly checked their progress, particularly as Collins Obuya then came in and hit 40 in 36 balls to keep up the free scoring.

Canada did hit back late in the innings with Raza Rehman and Jeremy Gordon taking a brace of wickets apiece as Kenya lost four wickets for 31 runs.

Opener Rizwan Cheema then registered a three-ball duck but when he departed, the score was 17 for two, Ruvindu Gunasekera having already blasted 15 in seven balls only to fall to Ragheb Aga shortly before Cheema did.

Usman Limbada made 16 but as has so often been the case during his career, it was up to Ashish Bagai to keep Canada in the game.

He batted well, making 48 in 46 balls but with limited support, even he wasn't able to take his side close enough, and he was the last man to fall, run out by Dhiren Gondaria in the final over.

Hamza Tariq had hit 22 in 16 balls but Canada needed more than that; as they pushed to accelerate, Tikolo took advantage by returning figures of three for 16.

Ragheb Aga's early breakthroughs earned him a return of two for 15.

Two more teams will qualify for the 2014 finals tomorrow when the Netherlands play the United Arab Emirates and Nepal play Hong Kong.

The losers of those games will then meet the winners of Scotland v Italy and Namibia v Papua New Guinea for a final chance to make it to Bangladesh.

Ireland and Afghanistan have already qualified and lie in wait for the winners of tomorrow's qualification matches in the semi-finals of this event.

© Cricket World 2013