< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Kevin Pietersen, Eoin Morgan to be part of PSL 2017

Eoin Morgan is set to make his PSL debut
Eoin Morgan is set to make his PSL debut
©REUTERS / Action Images

Former England batsman Kevin Pietersen will return to play for the Quetta Gladiators in the 2017 edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) following the draft process that took place in Dubai on Wednesday.

Pietersen was also part of the Quetta Gladiators in the first season too and he scored 215 runs from nine matches at a strike-rate of 130. The Sarfraz Ahmed led Quetta Gladiators managed to finish runners-up in the inaugural edition after losing to the eventual champions Islamabad United in the final.

The Gladiators picked Pietersen, Sarfraz and Ahmed Shehzad in the first three rounds of the Platinum Round while West Indian all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite, Luke Wright and Anwar Ali have been picked in the Diamond Round.

England limited overs captain Eoin Morgan is set to make his debut for the Peshawar Zalmi and will join the likes of Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Hafeez and all-rounders Shakib Al Hasan and Darren Sammy.

Meanwhile, Karachi Kings have packed their team with West Indian pair of Kieron Pollard and Chris Gayle while Ravi Bopara, Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir add more muscle to the squad along with former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara.

The defending champions Islamabad United have retained most of the players from the previous season with Misbah-ul-Haq back at the helm along with Andre Russell, Shane Watson, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Irfan and Samuel Badree.

The final team Lahore Qalandars went for former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum, Sunil Narine, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Dwayne Bravo and Yasir Shah.

PSL chairman Najam Sethi announced that the final of the 2017 edition has got necessary clearance to be hosted in Lahore after most of the foreign players expressing their willingness to play in the Asian country.

© Cricket World 2016