< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

KFC BBL|10 Team of the Tournament Announced

Wes Agar (Adelaide Strikers)
Wes Agar (Adelaide Strikers)
KFC BBL|10 Team of the Tournament Announced
KFC BBL|10 Team of the Tournament Announced

The KFC BBL|10 Team of the Tournament has been announced, with nine Finals-bound players selected in the squad of 13.

The team, which includes three overseas and two X-Factor players, was selected by the eight KFC BBL club coaches.

The KFC BBL|10 Team of the Tournament is:

  • Josh Philippe (Sydney Sixers, wk, 8 votes)
  • Alex Hales (Sydney Thunder, o/s, 8 votes)
  • Ben McDermott (Hobart Hurricanes, 8 votes)
  • Colin Munro (Perth Scorchers, o/s, 8 votes)
  • Glenn Maxwell (Melbourne Stars, 5 votes)
  • Dan Christian (Sydney Sixers, 6 votes)
  • Rashid Khan (Adelaide Strikers, o/s, 6 votes)
  • Jhye Richardson (Perth Scorchers, 8 votes)
  • Mark Steketee (Brisbane Heat, 6 votes)
  • Adam Zampa (Melbourne Stars, 6 votes)
  • Wes Agar (Adelaide Strikers, 7 votes)
  • Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars, X-Factor, 4 votes)
  • Daniel Sams (Sydney Thunder, X-Factor, 3 votes)

The top four of Philippe, Hales, McDermott and Munro were selected by all eight coaches in their Team of the Tournament submissions. The quartet occupy four of the top six positions on the BKT Golden Bat leaderboard (which remains live into the Finals series), headed by Hales on 535 runs for the season to date.

Fast bowler Richardson, like the top four, was also a unanimous selection and currently leads the race for the BKT Golden Arm cap with 27 wickets. He is joined by fellow quicks Agar and Steketee as well as leg-spinners Rashid Khan and Adam Zampa in a strong bowling attack.

Four all-rounders have also made the squad of 13, including two X-Factor players for the first time. Proven match-winners Maxwell and Christian have been rewarded for their significant influence on multiple results this season with positions in the playing XI, while Stoinis and Sams’ ability to make an instant impact off the bench earned them the 12th and 13th positions.

Commenting on the team, Trent Woodhill, League player acquisition and cricket consultant, said:

“This is a team that would be highly competitive in any T20 match anywhere in the world, filled with powerful ball strikers, high class bowlers and strong X-Factor impact players.

“The likes of Alex Hales, Colin Munro and Rashid Khan led the way for the international contingent throughout KFC BBL|10, while Jhye Richardson has been the standout fast bowler of the campaign so far.

“The quality of cricket throughout this campaign and the strength of this team is also emphasised by the calibre of those who have missed out, including the likes of Alex Carey, Chris Lynn and Peter Siddle who all had exceptional seasons.

“Congratulations to all players who have made KFC BBL|10 such a success and we look forward to seeing the majority of the Team of the Tournament take the field throughout the Finals series.”


The first three KFC BBL|10 Finals series matches are:

  • Friday, January 29: ‘The Eliminator’, Brisbane Heat v Adelaide Strikers, the Gabba, 6:15pm AEST / 7:15pm AEDT
  • Saturday, January 30: ‘The Qualifier’, Sydney Sixers v Perth Scorchers, Manuka Oval, 7:15pm AEDT
  • Sunday, January 31: ‘The Knockout’, Sydney Thunder v winner of The Eliminator, Manuka Oval, 7:15pm AEDT

The winner of The Qualifier will earn the right to host the KFC BBL|10 Final on Saturday, February 6.

The loser of The Qualifier will receive a second chance to make the Final, taking on the winner of The Knockout on Thursday, February 4. This match is known as The Challenger.

©Cricket World 2021