< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

KFC BBL|12: Rashid Khan, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo nominate for KFC BBL|12 Draft

Rashid Khan
Rashid Khan
Colin Munro
Colin Munro

Rashid Khan, Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo, among the biggest names to ever play in the Big Bash League, are ready to venture to Australia once again after nominating for the KFC BBL|12 Draft.

The world-class trio, all highly sought after by T20 clubs and leagues around the world, will take part in KFC BBL|12 if selected at the inaugural Draft for overseas players. They headline a group of players announced today from Afghanistan, New Zealand and the West Indies to nominate for the Draft.

Rashid Khan requires little introduction to BBL fans, particularly those in Adelaide after five successful seasons in Strikers’ blue. The Afghan leg-spinner is arguably the greatest bowler in BBL history, with his 92 wickets in 61 appearances the most among the competition’s international players. If selected, KFC BBL|12 would be his sixth summer campaign in Australia.

Joining Rashid are another five players from Afghanistan including Qais Ahmad, who has played in three previous BBL campaigns for the Hobart Hurricanes and Melbourne Stars.

Leading the charge of West Indian stars to embrace the BBL is all-rounder Kieron Pollard, the world’s most experienced T20 player. In a record 598 career T20 matches since his 2006 debut, Pollard has amassed 11,670 runs – the third highest career aggregate of any player – and 309 wickets. His middle-order hitting and canny seam bowling has previously been on show at the Strikers and Melbourne Renegades.

Joining him is Dwayne Bravo, the all-time leading T20 wicket taker with 596 career scalps. One of cricket’s most flamboyant personalities, Bravo is known to BBL fans from his stints with the Sydney Sixers, Stars and alongside Pollard at the Renegades. His 542-game career in the format is littered with highlights that have led to him hold the record for the most global T20 titles, with 16.

Fellow West Indians Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis and Sherfane Rutherford are among a number of players from the Caribbean who have entered the Draft.


Also nominating for a Big Bash return is Kiwi big hitter Colin Munro. The left-hander enjoyed a successful stint with the Perth Scorchers in KFC BBL|11, with his 390-run campaign highlighted by an unbeaten 114 against the Strikers.

Munro is one of three players currently eligible to be selected by their KFC BBL|11 Club via a Retention Pick in the Draft after playing in the competition last season. Rashid Khan (Adelaide Strikers) and Qais Ahmad (Melbourne Stars) are also eligible for retention.

These players join Faf du Plessis, Marchant de Lange, Rilee Rossouw and David Wiese who were recently announced as the KFC BBL|12 Draft’s inaugural nominees.

Over 100 players have nominated for the Draft to date. The League will make further announcements regarding player nominations, broadcast details and the order of Draft selections soon.


Trent Woodhill, Big Bash Leagues Player Acquisition and Cricket Consultant, said:

“To receive nominations from players such as Rashid Khan, Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo demonstrates the attention on the BBL in the global marketplace thanks to the Draft.

“These players are world class – highly talented, experienced and sought after. We welcome them and all players who have nominated in recent weeks from around the world.

“We look forward to announcing further nominations soon.”


KFC BBL|12 Draft nominations


Over 100 players have nominated for the Draft to date. All players announced are below, with the remainder to be announced soon.



Rashid Khan, Qais Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Waqarullah Ishaq, Izharulhaq Naveed, Naveen Ul Haq Murid, Hazratullah Zazai


New Zealand

Colin Munro, Todd Astle


South Africa

Faf du Plessis, Marchant de Lange, Rilee Rossouw, David Wiese (also Namibia)


West Indies

Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sheldon Cottrell, Chemar Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Anderson Phillip, Khary Pierre, Ravi Rampaul, Sherfane Rutherford, Jayden Seales, Kevin Sinclair, Tion Webster, Nyeem Young