< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Kings XI Finish By Crushing Delhi

David Miller
David Miller scored an unbeaten 47 to hurry Punjab to victory
©REUTERS / Action Images

Kings XI Punjab 119-3 (Miller 47no) beat
Delhi Daredevils 115 by seven wickets
Indian Premier League 2014, Mohali

The Kings XI Punjab finished their Indian Premier League 2014 league-stage campaign with a seven-wicket win over the Delhi Daredevils in Mohali.

At the Punjab Cricket Association Ground, they scored 119 for three in 13.5 overs without any fuss to overcome Delhi’s lowly score of 115 all out in 18.1 overs to record their 11th win of the season.

With this win, they finished top of the group stage with 22 points from 14 games, a record that was first set in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008 by Rajasthan Royals.

Now they will take on the Kolkata Knight Riders in the first qualifier on Tuesday in Eden Gardens.

Meanwhile Delhi Daredevils finished with the wooden spoon once again, last for a second season running, with just four points from 14 games (two wins).

Chasing a paltry total, Punjab didn’t get off to a great start, losing Virender Sehwag (9) cheaply. It became a double blow as Glenn Maxwell (0) was dismissed for a three-ball duck.

However, Manan Vohra and David Miller then added 96 runs for the third wicket and saw off any challenges posed by the Daredevils attack.

Neither batsman could reach his fifty, but they did bat increasingly quickly bringing up the 50-run mark in the seventh over and then the 100-run mark in the 12th over.

Vohra scored 47 runs off 38 balls, with four fours and two sixes, and he was dismissed on the cusp of victory. Meanwhile, Miller scored the same number of runs, but was unbeaten in the end, making 47 off 34 balls, hitting four fours and two sixes as well.

Mohammad Shami (1-26), Jaidev Unadkat (1-3) and Imran Tahir (1-32) were the wicket-takers for Delhi.

Earlier, Punjab won the toss and elected to field first. Delhi’s start was sloppy once again with Mayank Agarwal (2) falling cheaply.

But skipper Kevin Pietersen and Dinesh Karthik (13) put on 31 runs for the second wicket and appeared to stem the rot. The latter’s wicket in the sixth over broke the proverbial back and it opened the floodgates.

Kedhar Jadhav (0) was sent back in the same over by Parwinder Awana (2-15) and then Manoj Tiwary (8) was run out shortly afterwards. JP Duminy (8) couldn’t do much for a change either and when Pietersen and Jimmy Neesham (12) fell on either side of the 100-run mark, it was already all over for Delhi.

Pietersen played the lone hand to score 58 runs off 41 balls, including nine fours, his first big impression of the season.

It was too little too late for the Daredevils as they were shot out in the penultimate over with a none-too challenging total on the board.

Akshar Patel (2-28), Mitchell Johnson (2-27), Karanveer Singh (2-22) and Rishi Dhawan (1-22) were the wicket-takers for Punjab.

© Cricket World 2014