< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Kings XI Smash Northern Knights

Virender Sehwag
Virender Sehwag hit a swift half-century to get Kings XI off to a flyer
©REUTERS / Action Images

Kings XI Punjab 215-5 (Vohra 65) beat
Northern Knights 95 by 120 runs
Champions League T20 Group B, Mohali

Kings XI Punjab stormed into the semi-finals of the Champions League T20 with a crushing 120-run win over Northern Districts Knights in Group B in front of their home crowd in Mohali.

After Manan Vohra and Virender Sehwag hit half-centuries to propel Punjab to a score of 215 for five, the Knights were shot out for 95.

Their innings lasted just 15.2 overs and they were completely routed when Karanveer Singh completed a four-wicket haul.

Vohra struck 65 in 32 balls and Sehwag 52 in 37 as Punjab plundered runs from the start of their innings, the pair putting on 102 together in 8.3 overs.

The New Zealanders were for a short period able to put the brakes on, thanks to Scott Kuggeleijn and Ish Sodhi taking a brace of wickets, before Punjab finished strongly.

David Miller blasted 40 not out in 18 balls and George Bailey 18 in 13 as they raced past the 200-mark to set the Knights a stiff target.

Kuggeleijn returned two for 34 and Sodhi two for 37 while Scott Styris (1-30) was the other man to take a wicket.

Kane Williamson (20 in 15 balls), Anton Devcich (28 in 15) and Daniel Flynn (12 in 14) were then the only players to reach double figures in a run chase that quickly lost its way once Williamson and Devcich were separated.

They had taken the score to 58 for one in 5.4 overs but the collapse from there was quick, Punjab ruthlessly exposing the Knights batting frailties against spin.

Karanveer finished with four for 15, Akshar Patel two for 16, Anureet Singh one for 25 and Thisara Perera one for eight.

While Punjab can look forward to a semi-final appearance, the Knights have an outside chance of still making it, although should Hobart Hurricanes win their final match - against Barbados Tridents - then the Australians will go through.

© Cricket World 2014