< >
Cricket Betting us

Kohli puts India on top on first day of second West Indies Test

Virat Kohli reached 87 not out in his 500th international
Virat Kohli reached 87 not out in his 500th international

The first day of the second Test between India and West Indies at the Queen's Park Oval in Port of Spain, Trinidad witnessed a great competition between bat and ball. After being dominated in the first game, West Indies, who opted to field first, produced a resounding effort with the ball and made sure that the day ends on an evenly poised note. At stumps, India were 288 for four.

India had another sensational opening stand as skipper Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal remained unbeaten in the first session. They stitched 139 runs for the opening partnership before the latter was back in the hut for 57 runs off 74 balls that included nine boundaries and one six. His wicket paved the way for collapse as Shubman Gill had another poor outing. Sharma looked set for a big knock but a jaffa from Jomel Warrican cut short his innings. He scored 80 runs off 143 balls, smashing nine boundaries and two sixes. It was expected that Ajinkya Rahane would make the most of the opportunity and bail his side out of trouble but he didn’t live up to the expectations and was back in the hut after scoring eight runs off 36 balls.

The onus was yet again on Virat Kohli to take his team out of trouble and he did exactly that. The kingpin of the Indian batting line-up played a classy inning and remained unbeaten at 86 from 161 balls that included eight boundaries as well. He was complimented well by all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, who was batting at unbeaten 36 runs off 84 balls with the help of four boundaries as India ended Day 1 on 288 for four. For West Indies Shannon Gabriel, Jomel Warrican and Jason Holder picked one wicket each. 


Match Stats

Match Summary
India (1st Innings): 288-4 (84)
Fall of wickets: 1-139 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-31.4 ov), 2-153 (Shubman Gill-35.4 ov), 3-155 (Rohit Sharma-38.5 ov), 4-182 (Ajinkya Rahane-50.4 ov)

Playing XI
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj

West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Kirk McKenzie, Jermaine Blackwood, Alick Athanaze, Joshua Da Silva (wicket-keeper), Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach, Jomel Warrican, Shannon Gabriel

Match Details
Toss: West Indies, elected to field
Venue: Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Start time: 1400 hrs GMT
Match officials: Marais Erasmus, Richard Kettleborough (On-field Umpires); Michael Gough (TV Umpire); Nigel Duguid (Reserve Umpire); Jeff Crowe (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023