< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Krishna CC are crowned 2017-18 Winter League Champions

Malta Cricket
A jubilant Krishna team pose as Champions with the Malta Cricket Winter League Shield
©Malta Cricket

Krishna CC 158 for 5 wickets (B George 35*, V Prasad 30*; A Nauti 1-17) defeated Melita CC 113 all out (S Byrne 32, A Nauti 27*); B George 2-10).

Krishna CC were confirmed champions of the 2017-18 Malta Cricket Winter League on Saturday as they defeated Melita CC by 45 runs. Batting first, the league champions reached a respectable 158 runs from their allotted 25 overs. Basil George was in fine form again with 35 runs while Varun Prasath contributed 30. Of the Melita bowlers, Andrew Nauti, Rob Mitchell, David Marks and Sean Byrne all snared a wicket apiece.

Melita required victory to keep their league hopes alive but a series of quick wickets in their middle order put pay to any chances they had of victory. Sean Byrne (32) and Andrew Nauti (27*) were the top scorers for Melita; while Basil George, Bikram Arora and Varun Prasad were the pick of the bowlers for Krishna with two wickets each.

This Saturday sees the Malta Cricket Academy take place at 9am followed by the penultimate match of the winter season between Marsa and Melita. Both teams will be keen to finish with a consolation victory.

Player of the Match: Basil George; Umpire: John Grima; Scorer: Eric Ramakrishnan

Winter League Table (after 7 matches) - Krishna 77, Melita 25, Marsa 23.