Krishna CC Go Top, Leyland Win Again

Tony Azzopardi enjoying his innings
Tony Azzopardi enjoying his innings
©Marsa CC

A busy week of cricket in Malta saw Leyland CC extend their winning run over Marsa CC and Krishna CC beat Marauders CC to go top of the summer league.

On Saturday the CricHQ MCA summer league continued with Marauders CC taking on Krishna CC.

Krishna batted first, with Tony Azzopardi doing a fantastic job for them opening the batting and retiring for the second time in three innings, this time making a run-a-ball 30 which included two boundaries.

Sidharth Anand made 22 from 17 balls which included a six and a four. Daniel Galea batted well to make 11 runs and also retired (juniors retire after 15 balls).

Nowell Khosla was Krishna's top scorer with 45 which included four fours and a six. Simon Lavendar chipped in with 16 towards the end of the innings and Krishna totalled 145 runs which is the highest to date for the competition.

For the Marauders, Ian Pendelbury, Luke Bradley and Ed Manning all took a wicket each. Tom Atkins also had a good opening spell of three overs which went for just 14.

The Marauders went out with great intent but unfortunately for them they fell short by 16 runs. Mike Caruana retired after making 31, Owen Jones also retired, playing well before making 21, Ed Manning made 25 and Ian Pendlebury, with some entertaining batting made 21.

For Krishna, Frank Spiteri took two wickets while Haroon Majeed, Simon Lavendar and Sid Anand took a wicket each. Krishna earned 14 points for the win and go on top of the standings, while Marauders picked up no points.

Last Tuesday Marsa played the final game against Leyland which turned out to be a high-scoring Twenty20 clash.

Leyland batted first and accumulated 208 runs with Alex Ross scoring his second century in as many innings.

The Marsa team made a game of it and ended up just 26 runs short. Haroon Majeed was the highest scorer with 74.

The result means that Leyland win their sixth series against Marsa from seven. Marsa’s only series win was back in 2010.

Next Saturday the summer league continues with the Marauders taking on Marsa. 

© Cricket World 2014

Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club
Find a Fixture