< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Kuhn, Markram in South Africa Test squad for England series

Andile Phehlukwayo was impressive in the limited overs series against England
Andile Phehlukwayo was impressive in the limited overs series against England

South Africa have included three uncapped players in the squad to take on England in the upcoming Test series that will be played between 6th July and 8th August.

Titans wicket-keeper batsman Heino Kuhn has been called up to the squad after his impressive performances for South Africa A side that includes a double century and a century in his last two games against Hampshire and England Lions.

All-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo, who has featured in 17 One-Day Internationals and seven Twenty20 Internationals has been included in the squad for the first time and so does Aiden Markram, who will remain as a cover for Faf du Plessis, whose wife is expecting their first child around the start of the first Test at Lord's.

Meanwhile, Kuhn and Phehlukwayo have taken the places of Stephen Cook and Wayne Parnell respectively.

Also, missing out on the squad that featured against New Zealand are Dane Piedt and Heinrich Klaasen. Dean Elgar will lead the side for the first Test in case du Plessis fails to make the cut.

Cricket South Africa convenor of selectors Linda Zondi believes Phehlukwayo will earn valuable exposure during his time with the Test squad.

“Andile’s selection is a continuation of our drive to develop bowling all-rounders for the test team. He and Chris Morris will fill this role in support of Vernon Philander. At the age of 21 he is certainly one for the future,” Zondi said.

South Africa squad for Test series against England:

Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis (captain), JP Duminy, Dean Elgar, Heino Kuhn, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Duanne Olivier, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada.

© Cricket World 2017