Kulasekara Out Of Pakistan Tests

Nuwan Kulasekara bowls
Nuwan Kulasekara will not add to his tally of 46 Test wickets from 20 matches against Pakistan.
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Sri Lanka seam-bowler Nuwan Kulasekara has withdrawn from the squad for the ongoing series against Pakistan due to a hamstring injury.

Kulasekara suffered the injury towards the end of the One-Day International series, which Pakistan won 3-2, and was not considered for selection for the first Test in Abu Dhabi, which ended in a draw earlier today. After further scans, it has been decided that he will not recover in time to play a part in the remaining Tests in Dubai and Sharjah so will fly home. He is also a doubt for the forthcoming tour of Bangladesh, which begins with the first Test in Mirpur on 27th January.

"They discovered the injury a few days back and Kulasekara won't be part of the tour anymore," captain Angelo Mathews said. "We haven't decided when he will be leaving, but it will be some time in the next few days."

Sri Lanka will not name a replacement player for Kulasekara, with seam-bowlers Nuwan Pradeep and Vishwa Fernando already in the now 15-strong squad alongside Suranga Lakmal and Shaminda Eranga.

Pakistan also have changes to their squad for the second Test in Dubai, which begins on 8th January. Adnan Akmal suffered a fractured finger during the first Test and will be replaced by Sarfraz Ahmed, while Umar Gul was sent home after being deemed not ready for the rigours of Test cricket following his knee injury.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Prasanna Jayawardene, Suranga Lakma, Shaminda Eranga, Nuwan Pradeep, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Vishwa Fernando.

Pakistan Test squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfraz Ahmed, Ahmed Shehzad, Khurram Manzoor, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Younus Khan, Junaid Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Talha.

© Cricket World 2014

Fixtures & Results

8th December: Pakistan v Afghanistan, Sharjah
PAK 138-4 beat AFG 137-8 by 6 wickets
11th December: 1st T20I, Dubai
PAK 146-7 beat SRI 145-5 by 3 wickets
13th December: 2nd T20I, Dubai
SRI 211-3 beat PAK 187 by 24 runs
18th December: 1st ODI, Sharjah
PAK 322-5 beat SRI 311 by 11 runs
20th December: 2nd ODI, Dubai
SRI 287-8 beat PAK 284-4 by 2 wickets
22nd December: 3rd ODI, Sharjah
PAK 326-5 beat SRI 213 by 113 runs
25th December: 4th ODI, Abu Dhabi
PAK beat SRI by 8 wickets
27th December: 5th ODI, Abu Dhabi
SRI 235-8 beat PAK 232 by 2 wickets
31st December-4th January: 1st Test, Abu Dhabi
SRI 204 & 480-5d. drew with PAK 383 & 158-2
8th-12th January: 2nd Test, Dubai
SRI 388 & 137-1 beat PAK 165 & 359 by 9 wickets
16th-20th January: 3rd Test, Sharjah
PAk 341 & 302-5 beat SRI 428-9d. & 214 by 5 wicket