Lancashire Name Squad For Twenty20 Opener

Cricket Manager Mike Watkinson has today announced a 13-man squad to contest the opening Twenty20 Cup match of the season away to Leicestershire Foxes at Grace Road (11th June, 5:30pm start). Stuart Law will captain the side after recovering from a broken right index finger that saw him miss the club’s last three fixtures, with replacement overseas player Lou Vincent set to make his limited-overs debut. Although both Andrew Flintoff (side strain) and Glen Chapple (groin) are still unavailable, the Lightning squad is full of explosive batsman and experienced strike bowlers – making them a feared opponent in the shorter form of the game. Lancashire’s Kolpak player Francois Du Plessis has already tasted Twenty20 success this season with the Nashua Titans, after they retained the South African domestic title by beating the Dolphins back in April. Following his Man-of-the-Match performance at Trent Bridge earlier this week, Fast Bowler James Anderson is available to play tomorrow in preparation for England’s NatWest International Twenty20 against New Zealand at Old Trafford on Friday. Lancashire Lightning 13-man squad Paul Horton Lou Vincent Mal Loye Stuart Law (cpt) Francois Du Plessis Steven Croft Gareth Cross (wkt) Kyle Hogg Dominic Cork Sajid Mahmood James Anderson Simon Marshall Gary Keedy © Lancashire CCC
Official Lancashire CCC Website