< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Lanka Premier League match 16: Galle Gladiators beat Dambulla Giants by 9 runs


Lanka Premier League Match 16: Galle Gladiators beat Dambulla Giants by 9 runs, at the R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo today.

Match Summary

Galle Gladiators vs Dambulla Giants, Match 16, Lanka Premier League

Galle Gladiators 134/7 (14 ov)

Dambulla Giants 125/5 (14 ov)

Result - Galle Gladiators won by 9 runs


Dambulla Giants won the toss and put Galle Gladiators in to bat, however, rain would see a delay in proceedings.

When they eventually got onto the field, openers Danushka Gunathilaka (22) and Kusal Mendis (35) led the way. Imran Tahir (3-20) did what he could from the otherside, taking some crucial wickets, along with Josh Little 2-29. Galle Gladiators eventually totalled 134/7 in their reduced allotted 14 overs.

In reply, Dambulla Giants came up 9 runs runs short in the run chase, dspite good knocks from Phil Salt (41) and  Janith Liyanage (51). Samit Patel 2-24 was the star with the ball for the Gladiators.

Match Stats

Galle Gladiators Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Danushka Gunathilaka - 2.5 ov), 2-68 (Kusal Mendis - 6.1 ov), 3-85 (Samit Patel - 8.3 ov), 4-111 (Mohammad Hafeez - 10.3 ov), 5-111 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa - 10.4 ov), 6-116 (Dhananjaya Lakshan - 11.4 ov), 7-134 (Isuru Udana - 13.6 ov)

 Dambulla Giants Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Niroshan Dickwella - 0.3 ov), 2-90 (Philip Salt - 10.5 ov), 3-96 (Dasun Shanaka - 11.3 ov), 4-96 (Janith Liyanage - 11.4 ov)

Playing XIs

GALLE GLADIATORS - Mohammed Shamaaz (WK), Kusal Mendis, Bhanuka Rajapaksa (C), Danushka Gunathilaka, Samit Patel, Mohammad Hafeez, Pulina Tharanga, Mohammad Amir, Isuru Udana, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Noor Ahmad

DAMBULLA GIANTS - Philip Salt (WK), Niroshan Dickwella, Najibullah Zadran, Janith Liyanage, Ramesh Mendis, Dasun Shanaka (C), Sachitha Jayathilake, Imran Tahir, Joshua Little, Chamika Karunaratne, Tharindu Ratnayake

Match Details

Date: 14th December, 14:00 PM

Venue: R.Premadasa Stadium, Khettarama, Colombo

Toss: Dambulla Giants won the toss & elected to field

© Cricket World 2021