< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Lara, Finch To Play In Showpiece Lord's Clash

Brian Lara at Lord's
Brian Lara will play alongside Sachin Tendulkar at Lord's
©REUTERS / Action Images

Brian Lara and Aaron Finch will turn out for the MCC against the Rest of the World in a showpiece clash to celebrate Lord'the 200th anniversary of Lord's on 5th July.

The MCC side will be led by Sachin Tendulkar while Shane Warne will captain the opposition.

Also confirmed for the Rest of the World XI are Nottinghamshire pair Peter Siddle and Chris Read as well as West Indian fast bowler Tino Best.

Pakistan pacer Umar Gul will play for the MCC side that also includes Brett Lee, Saeed Ajmal and Rahul Dravid.

Kevin Pietersen, Muttiah Muralitharan and Shahid Afridi will be in Warne's ranks.

"Lord's always holds a very special place in any cricketer’s heart, and I am very much looking forward to helping celebrate its Bicentenary with MCC this summer," Lara said.

"It was an honour to be asked to be involved and it will be fantastic to play at such an iconic place on such a special occasion."

Umar Gul added: "Playing at Lord’s is different to playing at any other ground in the world. There is something magical about it and it will be a pleasure to come back and help MCC mark the current ground’s 200th year in this match.

"There are some big names involved in the game, including two of my Pakistan teammates, so I’m sure it will be great fun and hopefully I can put in a good performance."

MCC Head of Cricket, John Stephenson, said: "It’s extremely exciting for us to confirm the full line-ups for this match and I cannot wait to see them put on a show at the Home of Cricket.

"This is a very special year for Lord’s and I’m delighted to see the calibre of players who are so keen to come and celebrate the Lord’s Bicentenary with MCC."

MCC XI #teamsachin: Sachin Tendulkar (captain), Saeed Ajmal, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Rahul Dravid, Aaron Finch, Umar Gul, Brian Lara, Brett Lee, Chris Read, Shaun Tait, Daniel Vettori

Rest of the World XI #teamshane: Shane Warne (captain), Shahid Afridi, Tino Best, Paul Collingwood, Adam Gilchrist, Tamim Iqbal, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kevin Pietersen, Virender Sehwag, Peter Siddle, Yuvraj Singh

© Cricket World 2014