< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Lasith Malinga returns for T20I series in Australia

Lasith Malinga last played for Sri Lanka in February 2016
Lasith Malinga last played for Sri Lanka in February 2016

Sri Lanka have recalled fast bowler Lasith Malinga in the squad for the upcoming Twenty20 International series against Australia.

The 33-year-old last played for Sri Lanka during the Asia Cup T20I game against United Arab Emirates in February last year and later withdrew from the World T20 competition in India with a bruised knee.

His addition will be the fifth change made to the squad that recently won the T20I series in South Africa with Dasun Shanaka and Milinda Siriwardana, Dilshan Munaweera and Chamara Kapugedara also staging a comeback.

Following his poor run of form in South Africa, the selectors have decided to drop Dinesh Chandimal along with Dhananjaya de Silva, Thikshila de Silva, Nuwan Pradeep and Suranga Lakmal.

Chandimal captained Sri Lanka to a 2-1 T20I series victory over the Proteas but his form with the bat has convinced the selectors to leave him out and in the absence of regular skipper Angelo Mathews, Upul Tharanga will continue to lead the side.

The three-match T20I series will be played in Melbourne, Victoria and Adelaide between 17th and 22nd February.

Sri Lanka squad for T20I series against Australia:

Upul Tharanga (capt), Niroshan Dickwella, Asela Gunaratna, Dilshan Munaweera, Kusal Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana, Sachith Pathirana, Chamara Kapugedara, Seekkuge Prasanna, Nuwan Kulasekara, Isuru Udana, Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Malinga, Vikum Sanjaya

© Cricket World 2017