Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Last-Ball Win For Sri Lanka - India Exit World Twenty20

Last-Ball Win For Sri Lanka As India Exit World Twenty20
Last-Ball Win For Sri Lanka As India Exit World Twenty20
©EUTERS/Philip Brown (ST LUCIA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Sri Lanka 167-5 (Sangakkara 46, Mathews 46) beat
India 163-5 (Raina 63, Malinga 2-25) by five wickets
ICC World Twenty20 Group F, Saint Lucia

Chamara Kapugedera hit a six from the final ball to steer Sri Lanka to a thrilling five-wicket win over India that ended the 2007 champions' involvement in the 2010 ICC World Twenty20.

Suresh Raina blasted 63 in 47 balls with seven fours and a six to steer India to a total of 163 for five and needing to win by 20 runs to stay in the tournament, they failed to do so as Sri Lanka closed on 167 for five after a match that ebbed and flowed throughout.

Gautam Gambhir weighed in with 41, Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored an unbeaten 23 in 19 balls and Yusuf Pathan was the last man to fall having thumped 13 in nine balls as Thilan Thushara and Lasith Malinga both returned two wickets, the former conceding 41 runs and the latter 25.

All-rounder Thissera Perera was the other man to pick up a wicket.

Despite a terrible start to their run chase in which openers Sanath Jayasuriya (0) and Mahela Jayawardene (4) fell cheaply, to debutant Ranganath Vinay Kumar and Ashish Nehra respectively, they kept their heads and closed out a game that at points they appeared to have no rights to win.

Tillakaratne Dilshan (33 in 26 balls) got the innings back on track before innings of 46, in 33 balls from Kumar Sangakkara, and 37 balls from Angelo Mathews, ensured the match would go down to the wire.

Mathews hammered three fours and two sixes but the coup de grace was applied by Kapugedera, who, after seeing Mathews run out off the penultimate delivery, launched Nehra over the covers to seal the win and end unbeaten on 37 in just 16 balls.

© Cricket World 2010