< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Latest rebel WBBL|05 Round Up - Wins for Renegades, Scorchers and Heat


In latest round of rebel WBBL|05 matches, there were wins for Melbourne Renegades, Perth Scorchers and Brisbane Heat today.


Brisbane Heat defeat Sixers by seven wickets

The Brisbane Heat have defeated the Sydney Sixers for the second time this season at North Sydney Oval winning by seven wickets on Saturday.

During opening weekend, the Heat prevailed by 92 runs.

Despite an impressive 2-19 from four overs by South African leg-spinner Dane van Niekerk, the Heat won with 19 balls to spare finishing 3/127 in reply to 7/123.

Heat openers Beth Mooney (25) and New Zealand International Maddy Green (25) reached 44 without loss in the powerplay before losing their first wicket on 46 in the seventh over.

Van Niekerk then dismissed the dangerous Mooney, with a sharp caught and bowled, and the Sixers were in the game at 2-69 in the 11th.

However, Jess Jonassen (33 from 28) and Grace Harris (26 not out from 18) steered the visitors home.

Earlier, Sixers captain Ellyse Perry won the bat flip and elected to bat first, but it was the Heat who enjoyed the perfect start, with both the skipper and Alyssa Healy unable to reproduce their unbeaten 199-run partnership against the Stars last match.

Both were dismissed for single figures and the Heat did a good job therein to restrict the run rate.

Four batters passed 20 with Australian spinner Jess Jonassen (2-20) and Delissa Kimmince (2-26) multiple wicket takers for the visitors.


Upcoming Sixers WBBL Match Details:

•             Hobart Hurricanes v Sydney Sixers, Wednesday 13 November - Invermay Park, Launceston (11:00am Sydney time)

•             Sydney Thunder v Sixers, Friday 15 November - Drummoyne Oval (7:10pm Sydney time)


Scorchers beat Strikers in nail-biter by 2 runs - Patterson, Devine shine


The Adelaide Strikers have lost a nail-biter against the Perth Scorchers, going down by two runs, despite half-centuries from Sophie Devine and Bridget Patterson.

Patterson's incredible 60 from 32 balls was her highest rebel WBBL score, the right-hander striking six fours and three sixes, only to fall agonisingly short of victory

Earlier, captain Suzie Bates won the toss and elected to bowl first but an incredible 141-run partnership between Amy Jones (80) and Meg Lanning (64) had the Scorchers off to a flying start.

Devine (1/28) struck first to remove Jones, while an over later, McGrath (1/40) dismissed Lanning.

Sarah Coyte (1/34) clean-bowled Nat Sciver (17) in the final over, but the damage was done, with the Scorchers setting the Strikers 174 to win.

A 45-run opening partnership between Smash Sisters Devine (58) and Bates came to an end when Bates was removed for 23.

The Strikers were on track before Devine (58 from 50 balls) departed in the 17th over, however Patterson continued to accelerate, and suddenly the Strikers needed just 11 from the final over.

Good bowling from Heather Graham however, saw the blue side succumb to a heartbreaking loss, just two runs short of victory.

With four wins and three losses, Adelaide have dropped to third place on a tight ladder, behind the Sydney Thunder and the Brisbane Heat.

The team will return to Karen Rolton Oval on Sunday to take on the Melbourne Stars from 1:40pm. The match can be watched live on 7 Mate, Fox Cricket and Kayo.

Melbourne Renegades beat Hobart Hurricanes  by 4 wickets

Match Summary

Melbourne Renegades 151 – 6

Hobart Hurricanes   150 – 5

Result - Melbourne Renegades won by 4 wickets


Melbourne Renegades - Sophie Molineux, Danni Wyatt, Tammy Beaumont, Josie Dooley(wk), Jess Duffin(c), Courtney Webb, Georgia Wareham, Maitlan Brown, Carly Leeson, Molly Strano, Lea Tahuhu

Hobart Hurricanes  - Erin Fazackerley, Meg Phillips, Heather Knight, Nicola Carey, Fran Wilson, Corinne Hall(c), Chloe Tryon, Maisy Gibson, Tayla Vlaeminck, Emily Smith(wk), Belinda Vakarewa

Start Time: 02:00

Toss: Melbourne Renegades won the toss and decided to field

Venue: CitiPower Centre, Melbourne

Officials: Greg Azzopardi, Dale Ireland, Kent Hannam

©Cricket World 2019