< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Leon Johnson to lead WICB President's XI against India

Leon Johnson to lead WICB President's XI against India
Jermaine Blackwood is among the WICB President's XI squad that will face India.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) selectors have picked Guyana skipper Leon Johnson to lead a 12-man WICB President’s XI squad which will face India in a two-day tour match in St Kitts on 9th and 10th July.

Apart from Johnson, Test players like Jermaine Blackwood, Rajendra Chandrika, Shane Dowrich, Shai Hope and Jomel Warrican have also been named in the squad.

In the 2015-16 WICB Professional Cricket League Regional four-day Tournament, Johnson top-scored with 807 runs from 10 matches and also led Guyana to the title.

Vishaul Singh of Guyana and Roston Chase of Barbados, who were among the top five run scorers in the domestic four-day tournament, were also included for the game.

India will play another three-day tour match against WICB President’s XI between 14th and 16th July, following which they will embark on the four-match Test series.

WICB President’s XI squad for two-day practice game:

Leon Johnson (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Rajendra Chandrika, Roston Chase, Jason Dawes, Shane Dowrich, Shai Hope, Damion Jacobs, Keon Joseph, Marquino Mindley, Vishaul Singh, Jomel Warrican

© Cricket World 2016