< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Liam Plunkett to replace Mark Wood in England ODI squad

Liam Plunkett to replace Mark Wood in England ODI squad
Liam Plunkett has taken 45 wickets in 34 ODIs for England.
©REUTERS / Action Images

England fast bowler Liam Plunkett will replace the injured Mark Wood in England's One-Day International and Twenty20 International squads to face Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

Wood has been suffering from a chronic ankle injury which also forced him to miss the recently concluded Test against Pakistan in Sharjah. 

England’s national selector James Whitaker revealed that even though the team management has been able to manage Wood’s workload over the summer, they felt it was time the injury gets addressed.

"Mark Wood's ankle condition is well known and while we have managed his workloads over the summer and during the Test series against Pakistan," Whitaker said.

“It has been decided that the sensible course of action is to seek further advice from a specialist.

"We will then be able to consider how to ensure Mark is able to perform at his very best in an England shirt going forward.” 

Whitaker also reasoned that Plunkett’s inclusion in the squad will add the required experience to Eoin Morgan’s side.

"Liam Plunkett will replace Wood in both squads and, having featured in the ODI side last summer, his inclusion provides Eoin Morgan and Trevor Bayliss with an experienced pace bowling option in the squad."

All-rounder Ben Stokes, who picked up a collarbone joint injury in the third Test in Sharjah, was already rested from the limited overs squads. 

The limited overs leg of England’s tour of the United Arab Emirates will begin with the first ODI on 11th November in Abu Dhabi. 

England ODI squad:

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, James Taylor, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett

England T20I squad:

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Stephen Parry, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett 

© Cricket World 2015